Triangle Tree Skirt: Concept to Completion – Step 3 and 4 Assembly and Quilting Design

M’s tree skirt is being made from a pattern, so I didn’t need to do any further design work. And selecting the fabrics was practically a no brainer.

Triangle Tree SkirtM is all about pink and purple. She everything MUST be pink and purple. I went thru my stash an picked out all the pinks and purples. I used about 30 different ones.
Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirt

For the tree I wanted them to go from lighter to darker. So again back to the stash. I auditioned a few greens and ended up with these.
Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirt

I believe all Christmas decorations need a little bling. I had some yardage of white that had glitter that would be just the right thing! Unfortunately the glitter doesn’t show at all in the pictures. Trust me, it looks like its snowing on the trees.
Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirt
So I got started sewing and viola! Tree skirt. Well, at least the top.
Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirt

This top has a somewhat modern feel to me. And I love the modern style quilting that is very popular right now. But its not something that I have felt comfortable doing. This would be the perfect time to try it out!

Ruler work and pebbles are a mainstay of modern quilting. I thought it would be fun to have each tree use the same quilting elements, but be slightly different in execution.

So I got out one of my favorite tools for quilting design, a white board and dry erase marker. I love using it because if you can draw it you can quilt it. Building muscle memory is key to being able to quilt something. Using a white board you can just erase and draw it over and over without wasting paper.

The only problem was, how would I remember the different quilting designs when it came time to quilt the tree skirt. Seriously? It took me a few minutes then I literally slapped my head. Take a picture of it you nit-wit!

Here are the 8 different designs that I came up with:

Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designsNot Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs

Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designsNot Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs

Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designsNot Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs

Not Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designsNot Your Nornmal Steam - 8 Modern Quilt designs
15 space
But what was I going to do in the white space? An other thing that I have noticed a lot in the modern quilts that I have seen is that the quiting in the negative space is used to make its own designs. Very often making its own “blocks.”

There isn’t really enough negative space on this quilt to do a block. But, I could make a design. And remember that whole “I love stars” statement? Well here they come. I could do concentric 8-pointed stars. I drew it up on a computer program to see how it would look.
Not Your Normal Steam - Designing a tree skirtI haven’t yet decided if I will quilt anything between the stars. I am toying with doing a different fill pattern in each star. But I am going to wait and see how it looks once the stars have been put in.

Now I just have to finish assembling N’s skirt so I can get these both loaded on Millie and start quilting.

Tree Skirt Series:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

