Homemade Christmas – Door Decorations

I love that the mini-Steam’s love to decorate. Our neighbor gave them each Halloween and Easter door decorations as a thank you for some yard work they helped with and they were THRILLED!

I have been wanting to make these for them for a few years. This year since I had so much vacation time in December I was able to squeak them in.

I bought the letters from a craft store already painted white. I trace the curves onto the letters with a pencil using a french curve I still have hanging around from high school. (Yes, seriously I never throw anything away, you never know when you’ll need it.) The hats were meant to be ornaments also from the craft store. Once the letters were painted and sealed I glued them on with Fabri-Tac (I LOVE this stuff). I added nailed the ribbon to the back with tiny framing nails. And finally added furniture felt circles to the bottoms of the letters so they wouldn’t bang if we went into the kids room to check on them.

Since they are decorations we gave them to the kids early and let me tell ya, they were SOOOOO excited to get them. They stood infront of their doors for about 10 minutes. First with the doors open, and then with the doors open and closed to see which way looked best.

20131221-164427.jpg

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

