Snow worries, you still have time to make this

We have a decades long tradition in the Steam house. Every year I make an ornament or two and give them to the kids in the family. That way when the kids grow up and have their own tree they have enough ornaments to not have a Charlie Brown tree. And even more important, they have ornaments that hold memories of Christmas with their family.

This year’s ornaments had a snowman theme.

The first ornament, melted snowman, was the easiest. I filled a ornament with some flake white glitter (mica glitter I think it’s called) and then added 5 plastic faceted beads, one woodsie tear drop painted orange, and two woodsie circles painted black. Then I glued some snow ribbon to the top. I love how it turned out.
20131221-163220.jpg

The second ornament took a little bit more time but not too much. I slightly flattened some oversized bottle caps. I used a nail to punch holes in the top and bottom of all the caps. Then in one cap I also punched 2 extra holes on both the left and right side.  The insides of the caps were lined the inside with white vinyl. I cut small black circles with a hole punch. And just free cut the orange nose. Then I formed arms with 2 black pipe cleaners and fed them through the side holes. I used jump rings to attach the body pieces together and attached a ribbon to the jump ring at the top. Isn’t he cute?!
20131221-163229.jpg

To pull the gift all together I cut some vinyl and decorate a plain white bag. The mouth is the cave girl necklace from the Paper Doll Dress Up cartridge. The hat is the St. Pats hat (with the clover removed) from the A Child’s Year cartridge.
20131221-163237.jpg

I think the whole ensamble makes a great gift. I hope the kids think so too.
20131221-163211.jpg

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

