Homemade Christmas – Last Minute Crafts for the Mini Steams

When ever we go on vacation I try to get a chance to visit the local quilt shops. Its always fun to see what different areas of the country have in their shops. I usually try to go by myself to get some nice quite time. But sometimes that doesn’t work out and the mini-steams get to come with.

Now trying to keep a 3 year old and 6 year old entertained in a quilt shop can be a challenge. But my kids LOVE to look and pick out fabric. That in part has to do with the fact that I let them pick out 1 or 2 fat quarters for themselves. And then Mommy makes something special.

The last time we were on vacation we went to my favorite quilt shop, Barn Door Quilts. Its a cute little shop in the heart of Sturgeon Bay. They have the best patterns and a great selection of fabrics.

N picked out fabric that would be PERFECT for a pillowcase. So we skipped the fat quarters and got enough fabric to make this. It’s already wrapped and under the tree.
20131220-104813.jpg
He also picked out these two fat quarters that at some point will be turned into a pillow. But not likely going to happen before Christmas.
20131220-104759.jpg
Ms M picked out a great stripe and pretty tone on tone leaf.
20131220-104750.jpg
Since I made her all that baby gear I thought she would love a baby diaper bag. I found this AWESOME tutorial for a kids messenger bag that I thought would be perfect. So I paired up her fat quarters with some pink corduroy that I had in my stash and whipped up this baby.
20131220-104807.jpg

Seriously for being so young I am really impressed with my kids skills at picking out fabrics. Of course they don’t get any encouragement from me! Grin.

I can’t wait to see the looks on their faces on Christmas morning when they open up these gifts and recognize the fabrics.

Inspiration / Tutorials:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

