Soup 3 and 4: Mock Cream of Tomato and Spicy Tomato Dill

So now that I have given you a whole mess of soup recipes, I have to confess. I don’t like soup. Yep. Not a fan. A few years ago my mom suggested we go to a new to me restaurant.

Me: What kind of food do they have?

Mom: SOUP!

Me: (sporting a you must be crazy lady look) Soup? I don’t like soup.

Mom: Trust me.

And yes, my mom also warned me about people who say trust me. But in this case it WAS my mom, so I trusted her. And boy was I glad. The restaurant has a soup bar with between 4-6 soups every day. All of their soups are amazing. But my FAVORITE is their spicy tomato dill. This is my adaptation.

Ingredients:

  • 1 c butter
  • 2 medium onions diced (2 c)
  • 4 large garlic cloves minced
  • 1 c flour
  • 6 c chicken stock
  • 1/2 c honey or agave
  • 2 28 oz cans tomato sauce
  • 1 28 oz can diced tomoato
  • 1 t fresh ground pepper
  • 1/2 t salt
  • 6 dashes Tabasco (double if only making spicy tomato dill)
  • 1 1/2 T dill weed (double if only making spicy tomato dill)
  • 1/8 t red pepper flakes (double if only making spicy tomato dill)
  • 1 t chili powder (double if only making spicy tomato dill)
  • 1/2 t basil (double if only making spicy tomato dill)
  1. Melt the butter in a large stock pot
  2. Saute onions until soft about 5-10 minutes. You don’t want any color on the onions.
  3. Add the garlic and cook for 1-2 minutes. Just until you can smell the garlic.
  4. Add the flour and cook for 2-3 minutes to cook out the raw flour taste.
  5. Add 2 c of the chicken stock slowly whisking the whole time to prevent lumps.
  6. Add the remaining stock, honey, tomato sauce, diced tomatoes, salt and pepper and bring to a boil.
  7. Once the soup is boiling I split it in 1/2. One half I leave as is. This is the mock cream of tomato. Mock because there is no cream, but the roux (butter / flour) gives is a nice texture and flavor like a cream soup.
  8. To the 2nd half of the soup add the Tabasco, dill, red pepper flakes, chili powder and basil. If you don’t split the soup double the amount of these ingredients.
  9. Simmer both soups for about 20 minutes.

Serve and enjoy. This soup is very hearty. N loves his with a grilled cheese sandwich. I love mine all by itself.

20131218-171652.jpg

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

