Its all about the process – Taking the process pledge

Rosie at Fresh Modern Quilts has a challenge for us. To take the process challenge. I LOVE THIS IDEA!

So many people ask me:

“Shesh, Steam! Where do you get your ideas?”

“How did you even come up with that?”

“How do you have time to get that all done?”

For me all of my crafting, parties and especially my quilts are a process. But, you never get to see or hear about that process. What you see if just the end result. And sometimes, yes, it seems like I do it really fast, but in reality that project may have been a year in the making. Not that I have been sewing on it for a year, but that I have been STEWING on it for a year.

A lot of times my ideas come from very non-crafty places. A conversation with a friend, a book, a word, a random thought, a picture.

That idea or image my sit in the background in my head for a month or 6 or more. It will pop back up and remind me its there every once in a while while it simmers. Each time it pops up I take that idea and turn it around. Look at it from all the angles and start to give the concept some general shape.

  • Who would it be for?
  • When would it best be given? Easter? Birthday? Christmas? Just because? (gasp, kept?)
  • What color should it be? Bright? Muted? Contrasting? Coordinating? Matching?
  • Should it remain simple? Be complex?
  • How long does it need to last? Does it need to be durable and last years? Or will it only be used one time?
  • Do I have any pins for it?

Then all of a sudden it starts boiling and demands to be worked on. At that point it starts popping up a lot. And that’s when the details get worked out.

  • How will it be constructed?
  • What materials will be used?
  • How the heck will I cut that?
  • How will I attach it?
  • I spend a lot of time looking at pins, blogs, books, images.

Then it starts to boil over. I’ll begin to draw it. It may get drawn up 10 different times. I revisit pins, blogs, images.

Until its ready to be started. I get the supplies and I get to crafting. Usually by this point things go VERY quick. I have spend so much time thinking about how I am going to make it, the exact colors and feel that I want, the detailed sequence that the actually production is usually (but NOT always) smooth.

So I am taking this challenge. To let you all in on the PROCESS. I am so excited to share this I can’t wait to get started!!!!

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in General and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

