Soup 1: Beer Cheese

Beer Cheese soup is not something I would EVER order. But I had it at a Christmas party last week and FELL IN LOVE! I asked for the recipe and it turns out that its a recipe from my favorite show (Diners, Drive Ins and Dives). I modified the recipe quite a bit. And I think its just about perfect now. Be warned, this is NOT a diet recipe. But its the holidays and since I don’t like sweets, this is my splurge.

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 C butter
  • 2 C yellow onion chopped fine (2 medium)
  • 2 C carrot chopped fine (4 carrots)
  • 2 C celery chopped fine (4 stalks)
  • 3/4 C all purpose flour
  • 6 C chicken broth
  • 1 (12-oz) beer of choice (I used Lakefront Berwery IPA, if you can’t get that try a different IPA)
  • 12 oz extra-sharp cheddar, shredded
  • 12 oz processed Swiss cheese, shredded
  • 2 C heavy cream
  • ½ t salt
  • ½ t dry mustard
  • 1 t Worcestershire sauce
  • 1 lb polish kielbasa cut into 1/4″ half moons
  1. Melt butter in a stockpot over medium heat.
  2. Suate the chopped onion, carrot, and celery until soft. You don’t want any color on the veg. It will take about 5-10 min.
  3. Add flour. Cook for about 2 minutes to get rid of the raw flour taste.
  4. Slowly add the 1st two cups of chicken broth whisking the whole time to prevent lumps. Add the remaining stock and beer. Bring to a boil.
  5. Turn the heat to low. Add cheese one hand full at a time. Don’t add the next handful until the last one is completely melted. If you add the cheese to fast or over high heat it will break and your soup will be grainy and oily, yuck!
  6. Add half-and-half, salt, dry mustard, and Worcestershire sauce. Leave the soup at a simmer.
  7. Cook the sausage in a saute pan. You want to get some browning on the sausage. I did mine in two batches. Drain the sausage on some paper towel then add to the soup.
  8. Simmer for 5-10 minutes and serve!

Here’s the original recipe. I significantly increased the amount of veggies, and stock and reduced the amount of flour. But it has just the texture and flavor that I was looking for. If you try it, I’d love to hear what you think.

20131216-181659.jpg
P.S. I had it for lunch today and it reheated in the microwave with no loss of flavor or bad texture. It was just as lovely today as yesterday.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

