Homemade Christmas – Playing Santa for a Teacher Gift

I love making gifts for the mini Steam’s teachers. I mean after all these folks are not only taking care of my kids, but they are TEACHING them! So what could be more important than letting those teachers know how important that is?

This year was a real challenge for me. The present needed to be something special. Something I hadn’t given the teachers before. And I had to be able to make it en mass. After all between the two kids there were 14 teachers and administrators. Yikes!

I decided to start with my favorite gift to make ORNAMENTS! And my very favorite ornament to make is the glittery Santa ornament. If you want to make your own, I have a tutorial already for you.
Not Your Normal Steam - Teacher Gift

I really wanted to give the teachers something more than the ornament. But what? Off to Pinterest I went looking for Santa themed gift ideas.

And I found the perfect idea! Hand sanitizer. Seriously, every teacher has to deal with germy kids, especially now during the winter here in the frozen North.

So how about some decorating some hand sanitizer like Santa and turning it into SANTA – TIZER!!!! Oh yea! How cute are these?

I found some shimmery red scrap booking paper. I attached those with some Terrifically Tacky Tape. The white is vinyl that I cut with scallop scissors. The black is also vinyl. And the belt is silver glitter scrap booking paper.

Not Your Normal Steam - Teacher GiftNow how to wrap them? I found these great shiny red bags at the dollar store and I gave them the same treatment as the hand sanitizer.

I was a little worried that the vinyl wouldn’t stick to the slick bag. So I cut both the white and black vinyl too long and folded it over the edge to help it stay better.Not Your Normal Steam - Teacher Gift

Last step was to write a letter. I thought this one was just about perfect!

Not Your Normal Steam - Teacher Gift

Here’s the whole gift ensemble. I sure hope the teachers enjoy it.

Not Your Normal Steam - Teacher Gift

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Creative Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

