Beautiful Brussles Sprouts – A happy accident

We haven’t had a traditional Thanksgiving dinner at our house in several years. That means two things for me. 1) No leftover turkey. Which to me that is the best part. Trying all different recipes using up the leftovers. 2) I don’t get to try out new Thanksgiving style recipes. 3) Mr. Steam LOVES turkey, and one day of Turkey at a relative’s house just doesn’t cut it for him.

So late last night I decided that we would have a semi-full Thanksgiving dinner. This morning I headed off to the grocery store to see if they had fresh turkeys. If yes, game on. If no, bring on the lasagna.

Happy dance! They had several. So quick calls were made to the Grandparents to see if they wanted to come over for an impromptu Thanksgiving dinner.

One of the sides that I wanted to try out was a Brussels Sprouts recipe that Alton Brown had made on Thanksgiving live. Alas, I hadn’t written down the recipe. Heck, I didn’t even have a grocery list! So I tried to do it from memory.

Notice the tried? Yeah.

Alton’s recipe calls for Brussels sprouts, dried cranberries, and pecans.

My memory supplied Brussels sprouts, FRESH cranberries, and bacon. Ooops.

Well, I was not motivated enough to go back to the store. So I made my version. And IT! WAS! A! HIT! Everyone really liked it, and it was SUPER quick and super easy to make. BONUS!

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 c butter
  • 1 lbs Brussels sprouts
  • 1/4 lb bacon
  • 1/2 c dried cranberries
  • 1/4 t kosher salt
  • 1/4 t pepper
  1. Cook and drain the bacon. Crumble the bacon.
  2. Shred the Brussels sprouts using a food processor. I used my 2 mm slicing blade. You could also use a mandolin or just slice with a knife. But the key for this recipe is to get them THIN!
  3. Melt the butter in a saute pan.
  4. Add the Brussels sprouts, bacon, salt and pepper. Cook for about 5 minutes. The Brussels sprouts will turn BRIGHT green and tender, but will still have some bite.
  5. Add the cranberries and cook for 1 – 2 more minutes.
  6. Serve.

Sorry, I don’t have a picture. Things were a little crazy trying to get everything on the table and not forgetting anything. But, take my word on it, they are sooo pretty. Bright green with pops of red cranberries.

Here’s the original recipe that was my er, inspiration.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

