Hatch green chili scalloped potatoes

I had a hankering for some scalloped potatoes the other day. But I decided that they needed to be livened up. And what better to liven them up than some Hatch green chilies?!

I looked on the web and Pinterest for some recipes. But none of them seemed quite right. So I winged it. Hubs always gives me a hard time that he doesn’t know why I look at recipes any way, since I never follow them.

Humpf. I consider it research. I take a little from this recipe and a little from that recipe until I have something I think the family will like. And in this case it was a hit. There were almost NO leftovers. Which actually made me sad since I was looking forward to having some in my lunch the next day.

But it should make you happy. Because I decided to make a 2nd batch and this time I got pictures and the recipe!

Hatch Green Chili Scalloped Potatoes

Ingredients:

  • 2 1/2 lbs russet potatoes (you can use Yukon gold, but the chilies will overwhelm the subtlty so there’s no real point)
  • 2 c heavy cream
  • 1 13 oz tub green chilies
  • 1/2 t kosher salt
  • 1/2 t pepper
  • 2 1/2 c grated cheddar cheese
  1. Preheat the oven to 350 deg F
  2. Put the cream, chilies, salt and pepper in a saute pan and put on med – low heat. Bring the cream to just before a simmer. If it boils the cream will break (ie yuck). This will let the chili flavor infuse the cream and spread throughout the casserole.

    20131110-192935.jpg

  3. Peel and slice the potatoes to about 1/8″. I used my 4 mm blade on the food processor. But you could do it with a mandolin as well. Transfer the potatoes to a bowl of cold water to prevent them from browning.
  4. Spray a 9×13 pan with cooking spray
  5. Ladle about 1/4 cup of the cream / chili mixture onto the bottom of the pan
  6. Layout the potatoes flat and slightly overlapping. Like this. My over eager assistant Ms. M really wanted to have cheese on those potatoes NOW! Can ya tell?20131110-192923.jpg
  7. And now you would put on the cheese Ms. M. You only need about 1/2 c cheese on each layer as there will be about 4 layers.20131110-192929.jpg
  8. Ladle on more cream / chili mixture
  9. Repeat potatoes, cheese, cream / chili until you are out of potatoes. Remember though you need the potatoes to be covered by the cream or they won’t cook. So don’t go crazy with the potatoes.
  10. Your last layer should be heavy on the cheese and cream / chili. I pressed down the potatoes with the back of a spoon before putting in the oven. For this batch I even added about 1/2 cup of milk because there were too many potatoes.20131110-192940.jpg
  11. Put casserole in the oven uncovered for about 1 hr to 1 hr 20 min. They are are done when you can push a fork thru the potatoes without too much resistance. The top should be golden brown and delicious.

However you will just have to take my word on the golden and delicious part as I was so excited to eat them I didn’t take an out of the oven picture for either batch. I hope you decide to try them!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

