Halloween Minion Style

This year was the (gulp) 20th annual pumpkin carving party at the Steam house. Normally the only theme we do for this party is Halloween. But, this year Ms M is obsessed with minions from Despicable Me. And seriously, is there a better theme for a Halloween party?

First were the decorations. All of the decorations had to be quick as I only had this weekend to work on them.

The wreath was the first item to get finished. It was inspired by the purple people eater wreath over at Hoosier Homemade. I used jelly jar rings for the googles and craft foam for the eyer and teeth. But the best part was the purple LED lights that i found in the craft.

Minion Party - Food & Decorations

Minion Party - Food & Decorations

Next up are the stylized minion posters. Ever since I made these for N’s superhero party they have been one of my go to decorations. They are pretty easy and add a big pop. I just get bulletin board paper, wrap one of my larger pictures, and the decorate.

Minion Party - Food & Decorations

Minion Party - Food & Decorations

Finally were the minion figures. TP tubes, paper, google eyes, and pipe cleaner / yarn hair. I have a feeling it is going to be very hard for me to throw these guys out.

Minion Party - Food & Decorations

The food for the party was a challenge. How the heck do you do minion food? Bananas?

I ended up going with a color theme. Purple and yellow. Yeah, because that’s easier! What the heck do you serve for purple and yellow food? Well here’s what I ended up serving.
Minion Party - Food & Decorations
Purple:

  • black grapes
  • black berries
  • blue berries
  • blue corn chips
  • purple French onion dip (via purple food coloring)

Yellow:

  • pineapple
  • yellow delicious apples
  • hot corn dip
  • yellow corn chips

I also added two jars of homemade mixed berry jelly. Just in case anyone needed a minion cure.

The beverages were fun. I found some cling sheets at the craft store and made minion goggles on the punch containers.

Minion Party - Food & Decorations

The kicker was the cupcakes.

Minion Party - Food & Decorations

But what is a pumpkin carving party with out some carving. And we had adorable carvers this year.

20131027-221134.jpg

20131027-221143.jpg

20131027-221153.jpg

20131027-221224.jpg

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

