Pillows for some “Star” students

Well it’s a good thing I got to practice my quilting on a white board yesterday. I had some found time today which of course meant heading down to the craft cave.

N started kindergarten this year and his teacher requested some pillows for the reading area.

Earlier this year i got a while mess of fabric donated to me and I intended on making charity projects with that fabric.

I really wanted to make some pieced pillow tops, but didn’t have any time for fancy piecing. Bit as I dug through the boxes I found a partially completed quilt top. PERFECT!

The fabrics that were used were just right and I loved the pattern. The only problem was that the blocks were too narrow. But in that same bag I found the borders. Awesome!

Now I have five tips ready to go on Millie. I decided to use the pillows to practice some different quilting techniques.

Here is the first pillow. I did a meander with a star built into the pattern.

All star pillows

You can see that the piecing is to busy to really be able to. See the quilting.

The other four pillows got a general feather, some razor wire, paisleys and some curved ruler work. This is the back of the quilting so you can see it. I am pretty happy with how they all turned out. My feathers need some work but are actually starting to look like feathers!

All star pillows - Quilting

All star pillows - Quilting

All star pillows - Quilting

All star pillows - Quilting

Now all I have to do is make the pillow back and deliver these babies!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

