Mini Steam train Summer fun

Pretty much I can convince Mr. Steam to take a trip if there are steam trains involved. And on the rare occasion that we take a non-steam train related trip, I can pretty much guarantee that he will somehow find some steam train related SOMETHING near by.

One of the kids (and Mr. Steam’s) favorite weekend in the summer is when the Milwaukee Light Engineering Society has one of their train riding days. The kids could spend all day riding the rails.

There were lots of firsts for us on this trip. It was the first time we saw a model of a Galloping Goose. (Mr. Steam and I saw a real one on our honeymoon in Colorado). And it was the kids 1st ride of the day.
Not Your Normal Steam - Galloping Goose Garden Train

After that the kids (all 3 of them!) were excited to get their Steam fix in. They were piratically ready to push the train with their feet!
Not Your Normal Steam - First Steam Train Ride

For a change I got to go on this ride. I love seeing what the club has done each year for the scenery around the ride. This year there were some cars lined up at a crossing. And Miss M was all excited because there was a pink car. I was promptly informed that when she grows up SHE is going to have a PINK car.
Not Your Normal Steam - Garden Train Scenery

They also built a new bridge this year. It was really an impressive bridge. So impressive in fact that I was staring at it so much I didn’t get a picture. This bridge they have had for a while but is very picturesque. It crosses over a creek. But this is the only shot I got because as we were going over it I had a strangle hold on M so she didn’t end up in the water looking for FISHIES!!!! Sigh.
Not Your Normal Steam - Bridge

The engineer needed a break and the engine needed to take on some water. But Miss M was worried the train would leave without her. There was no way we could get her off the car. She was staying put!
Not Your Normal Steam - Waiting Patiently for a Garden Train ride

This year was extra special because we stayed until close (are you surprised? ‘Cause, really you shouldn’t be). And N got to help put the rolling stock away. (See I told you Miss M was staying put. She wouldn’t get off even after the cars were all uncoupled.)
Not Your Normal Steam - Putting the rolling stock away

The kids (and I) all had a blast, and look forward to our next trip out that way. If you want to check out when the Milwaukee Light Engineering Society is having their next public event check out their website.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Terrific Trains and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mini Steam train Summer fun

  1. I once wanted one of these in my backyard….then we lost the backyard. Really like looking at them, I know! 🙂

  2. Reblogged this on By the Mighty Mumford and commented:
    OOOH, OOOH!!!!! RIDING TRAINS!!!!!!!!!!!!!! 🙂

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

