Lemon and Herb Pork Roulade

It is very dangerous for me to watch Diners, Dive Ins and Dives. I LOVE. THAT. SHOW! I pretty much drool through the whole show. And in my head I am planning our next vacation around the restaurant locations.

Since we can’t afford to go on vacation every other week I very often try to recreate the recipes at home. The last episode I watched they make this pork sandwich with a pork shoulder roulade with fresh herbs, lemon zest, and garlic. The sliced the roulade and then heated that up on the flat top with some cheese and sauteed broccoli rabe. The served up that gooey goodness on a french baguette.  OH. MY. GOODNESS.

I decided I wanted to try this. But I knew my kids wouldn’t eat this as a sandwich. And I didn’t feel as ambitious to go thru all those steps. I also didn’t want to go buy a whole bunch of ingredients. So I made due with what I had in the pantry.

Ingredients:

  • Zest from 2 lemons on a small plate or prep dish
  • 6 garlic cloves minced or put thru a garlic press on a small plate or prep dish
  • seasoning blend (1/2 t dried thyme, 1/2 t dried rosemary, 1/2 t oregano, 1/2 t basil, 1/2 t kosher or sea salt, 1/2 t fresh ground pepper) on a small plate or prep dish
  • 1 pork loin roast
  • 4 roasting potatoes
  • 1 medium onion
  • Olive Oil
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1 t rosemary

Pre-heat the oven to 400 deg F.

Make sure you have your lemon zest, garlic and seasoning blend prepped before working with your pork. You will also need 4 pieces of cooking twine about 12″ long.

The hardest part is to cut your pork loin. But don’t worry you can do this. You are basically going to cut your pork so it opens like a 3 flap card. Line up the loin so the round short side is pointing to your belly.  Cut the long side about 1/3 from the top. Cut the whole length of the loin but stop about 1/2″ before you cut all the way thru. Open your flap.

Now you should have your left flap about 2x as thick as your right flap. Now you want to cut the 2x thick flap. But you need to start your next cut so that it starts where your last one stopped.

From that seam where you opened the flap, cut the 2x thick flap and cut the flap in 1/2. Cut the whole length of the loin and stop about 1/2″ before you cut thru. Open that flap.

Now you should have a VERY long piece of meat that is about the same thickness.

Cover the inside of the meat evenly with the lemon zest, garlic, and herb blend. Roll up the meat very tight. Tie with the 4 cooking twine pieces. Put the roulade on the center of a cooking sheet.

Cut the potatoes and onion into about 1″ pieces. Place on the cookie sheet around the loin. Drizzle the loin, potatoes, and onion with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt, pepper and remaining rosemary.

Place in the oven and bake for 1 hr or until the internal temperature of the meat is 145. When the meat is done let it sit for 10 minutes before slicing.

Not Your Normal Steam - Herbed Pork Roulade

This meal was a HIT with both kids. N even asked for seconds of the meat and he NEVER asks for seconds of meat. He’s my veggie guy. So we will absolutely be making this one again!

Not Your Normal Steam - Yummy pork

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

