Raving Raspberry Sauce

Raspberry season here is so yummy. Both kids just love raspberries and can’t eat enough. I love raspberries, but rarely get any unless Mr. Steam sneaks me some. Well this time Mr. Steam snuck me a whole bunch so we could try out a new recipe, raspberry sauce.

It started out when we were eating cheese fondue. I know, I know. How does cheese fondue have anything to do with raspberry sauce? Trust me on this. I was trying to figure out what we could do for a desert fondue.

You see, N will not eat chocolate. Yep, something wrong with that boy. So a chocolate fondue would NOT go over well. But I was thinking that most everything you put in chocolate fondue would taste great with raspberries. What if we made raspberry fondue?

I looked all over for a raspberry fondue recipe. And all I could find was raspberry chocolate fondue. And while that sounds FREAKING AMAZING, N wouldn’t eat it. So, I’ll save that one for a date night for Mr. Steam and I.

Anyway back to the raspberry fondue. All I could find were recipes for raspberry sauce. Lots and lots of them. So, that’s what we made.

There were a lot of variations in the recipes. Some called for corn starch to thicken the sauce. But, I didn’t want a super thick sauce. Most called for you to strain the sauce, but both Mr. Steam and I actually LIKE the seeds. Some called for the addition of a citrus juice, usually lemon. Now THAT I could get on board with, but make it lime instead.

Anyway, here’s what we ended up with (oh, except we made a double batch and it’s already gone!)….

Ingredients:

  • 2 c fresh or frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 c sugar
  • 1 T lime juice

Put the raspberries and sugar into a small sauce pan. Heat over medium until sauce starts to boil. Add the lime juice and puree with a stick blender.

If you don’t like the seeds you can strain it thru a fine mesh strainer.

It was super simple to make, and it tastes even better than the raspberry jam that Mr. Steam made.

M and I had some warmed up and poured over some vanilla ice cream. HEAVEN in a dish!

Not Your Normal Steam - Ice Cream with Raspberry SauceWe also froze some in ice cube trays so that we could use it this winter. Once they are frozen you pop out the raspberry cubes and put them in a labeled zip top bag. Each cube is 2 T. Perfect single serving for on top of chocolate cake or cheese cake.

Not Your Normal Steam - Raspberry suaceI have so many ideas for what I want to use this sauce for. Italian sodas, Raspberry Limeade, brownie swirl. I better stop before I get more hungry!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

