Raspberry Pie

Berry pies are a staple at the Steam house. But, as I mentioned earlier my very most favorite kind of pie is Raspberry pie. And there is nothing better than making a pie fresh picked raspberries from your own garden.  No worries though if you don’t have fresh raspberries, the pie tastes wonderful with frozen raspberries too.

I kid you not when I say we make a lot of berry pies here. We make so many that I have the recipe cheat sheet posted on our spice cabinet (along with my recipe for taco seasoning and pesto).

Pie Recipe Quick ReferenceThe recipe is a combination of recipes several different sources. A few notes about the recipe.

1. The Crust. Yes, it’s true, I used store bought crust. Yes, I know making pie crust is not that hard. Yes, I know scratch made pie crust tastes better. But I also know that we will have more pie if I use store bought crust because I HATE making pie crust. So, you are welcome to make your own pie crust. I will continue to use store bought crust and spend my other time making quilts!

2. The temperature. Yes, it seems hot. But I am telling you it works! I make all my pies both savory and sweet using this temperature profile. I have never covered the crust edges with foil or crust covers. I have never had burnt crust edges. Both the top and bottom crust come out PERFECT.

Now without further ado…

Ingredients:

  • 5 c fresh or frozen raspberries (substitute with blue or mixed berries if you prefer)
  • 3/4 c sugar + 2 T
  • 1/3 c all purpose flour
  • zest from 1 lemon
  • 1 box pie crust
  • 1 egg beaten

Pre-heat the oven to 500 deg F.

Mix 3/4 C sugar with the flour in a small bowl. In a large bowl, toss the raspberries, lemon zest, and flour / sugar mixture.

Put one crust in the bottom of your pie plate. Pour the raspberry mixture into the crust. Use a wooden spoon to push down the berries some.

Put the top crust on the pie. Crimp the top crust to the bottom crust. Using a basting or pastry brush, brush the top of the pie with the beaten egg. Dust the top of the pie with the reserved 2 T of sugar. Cut a few slits in the top of the crust. This will allow steam to escape from the pie without bursting the top.

Put the pie on a baking sheet to catch any raspberry drippings. Lower the oven temp to 425 deg F. Bake for 25 min.

After 25 min, turn the pie so the front of the pie is now in the back of the oven. Lower the oven temp to 375 and bake for an additional 30 – 35 minutes. The crust should be golden.

Let the pie sit for 30 minutes before serving. And make sure you get a slice for yourself before it’s all gone!

Not Your Normal Steam - Raspberry Pie

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

