Too Many Raspberries have you in a Jam? 8 Different Berry Great Ideas!

Everyone here in the Steam house LOVE our raspberry bushes. Every morning Mr. Steam goes out and picks raspberries and every evening after dinner the mini Steams go out and eat their fill. They are so much yummier than the berries from the grocery store.

(Don’t you know I don’t have a picture of the kids in the raspberry patch? Its so cute all I can go is stand there watching them with a big ole grin on my face. So just picture it. Yep, you’ve got a grin too don’t you?!)

But I wanted to enjoy raspberries in lots of different ways. Here are some that we have done so far this summer (or in some cases will be doing SOON).

1) Make Raspberry Jam

So far Mr. Steam has made 52 jars of raspberry jam. Yes, 52. And we haven’t even hit the HEAVY part of the season!!!! Nope your screen doesn’t need adjusting we have both black and red raspberry bushes. So we have both black and red jam. This years jam is the best ever!

Not Your Normal Steam - Raspberry jam2) Make a Raspberry Pie

My very most favorite kind of pie is Raspberry pie. And there is nothing better than making a pie with picked that day raspberries!

Not Your Normal Steam - Raspberry Pie 3) Make Raspberry Sauce for Ice Cream

I decided that I we should try something new this year. So I had Mr. Steam whip up some raspberry sauce.
Not Your Normal Steam - Ice Cream with Raspberry SauceLil’ miss M had some too and she mmmmm-ed thru the whole dish.

4) Make Raspberry Lime-aide

Both Mr. Steam and I LOVE fresh squeezed lime aide. And we both often order berry lemon aids in restaurants. But we haven’t had berry limeade. We will be remedying that situation TOMORROW! Mr Steam just got some limes. And we have left over sauce. I’ll let you know how it goes.

5) Make Raspberry Pancakes

Although most folks make blueberry pancakes, my favorite is a raspberry pancake. Since we always have fancy breakfasts on the weekend I know I can convince Mr. Steam to make me some on Saturday. I think I’ll even use raspberry sauce instead of maple syrup on top.

6) Save some for latter – Frozen Sauce

Raspberries freeze wonderfully and let you have a taste of summer in the fall or winter. To make it easier to use. Pour your sauce into an ice cube tray. Cover the tray with plastic wrap and set on a flat spot in the freezer over night. The next day pop out the raspberry cubes and put in a zip top freezer bag. Each cube is about 2 T worth of sauce. That way you can thaw out just the amount you need.

Not Your Normal Steam - Raspberry suace7) Save some for a winter pie

Mr. Steam is very good about freezing and canning for the family. He’ll take the exact amount of fruit I need (we do this with rhubarb too) for a given recipe and put it in a freezer bag. He marks the bag with the fruit name and quantity. Then I can pull out one bag and get going on a pie or crisp. (Ok, so in THIS case his labeling leaves a little to be desired.)

Not Your Normal Steam - Raspberry frozen8) Make a Berry-Mi-Sue

Inspired by a Rachael Ray recipe that we love better than real tiramisu.

Not Your Normal Steam - Raspberry TerimsuIn the next few days I’ll post these recipes for the Steam family favorites. My mouth is watering as I type. Yummmm.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

