DIY Sesame Street Gifts

Between the three week trip to Asia and how many hours I have been working there wasn’t much time to make presents for M. But I was able to whip up two gifts the day before the party. Each gift took about 1 hr to create.

First was a Sesame Street themed pillow case. Both my kids take their pillows VERY seriously. They are still bed pillows, not security blankets. But, they are THEIR pillows and they get so excited to have personalized pillowcases. So I thought M would really like a Sesame Street pillowcase. And I wasn’t wrong. Every chance she gets she shows her pillow to anyone who comes to the house.

I followed the tutorial from The Cottage Home. I admit that my pillowcase took well over 15 minutes to create. But I think the French seams make for much cleaner construction. And, still an hour of my time is well worth how happy it still makes M.
Not Your Normal Steam - Sesame Street Pillow case as gift

I had several different shirts planned for M. Each one a different style. I still may make her some of them for Christmas. The one I ended up making was the easiest. I used some quilting cotton, put some fusible on the fabric, and then appliqued it on a pre-made tee shirt. Its now her favorite shirt in rotation. Last time I made a shirt for her like this I used craft felt instead of quilting cotton. It was easier to make initially, but the felt didn’t wear well in the wash.

A few pieces of advice if you are going to make a shirt like this.

  1. Make sure you use a blunt nose needle in your machine, like a universal. If you use a sharp needle it will catch on the jersey material.
  2. To be safe add some light weight stabiliz9zer to the inside of the tee shirt.  I cheated and didn’t add any stabalizer. But I was SUPER DUPER careful as I was stitching down the quilting cotton to NOT stretch the tee shirt at all and only moved the shirt using the quilting cotton.
  3. BE VERY CAREFUL to NOT sew the back of the shirt while moving the shirt around (there’s a reason why I didn’t take a picture of the back of the shirt!) If you do the stitches can be ripped out, but you have to be gentle.

Not Your Normal Steam - Elmo Shirt
And all the work I spent creating the decorations, and food, and games was all worth it for that adorable little girl! She loved every little part. And now that this party is behind us, it’s time to start planning and creating for N’s Pirate themed party this fall. Arrrg Matey!

Not Your Normal Steam

Inspirations:

Sesame Street Party Posts:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts, Precious Parties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

