Sesame Street Super Party – Invitation

I had totally planned on having a Eric Carle The Very Hungry Caterpillar themed party for M’s 3rd birthday this year. But lil’ Miss M LOVES and I mean LOVES Elmo. So it was time to re-group.

I looked for some ideas for for an invitation on Pinterest, but none of the cards seemed like THE right one.

However I have a ton of cards that I have pinned recently that have used negative cutting. So I wanted to see if I could incorporate that into the card design. It’s hard to tell, but the text on the front of the card is negative cut, while Elmo sits on top of the card.

The card was cut out using the Sesame Street Friends cartridge. It is a retired cartridge, but it’s still sold as a digital only cart. I was very nervous about that. But since I almost always use Craft Room to do my cutting I decided to take the plunge. I have to say I was very happy with how easy it was. I did get a PDF copy of the cartridge book, and I had the cart in my Craft Room library IMMEDIATELY.

Not Your Normal Steam - Elmo Birthday InvitationThe envelope was fun. I got the red envelopes from a chain office supply store. (I figure I can use the left over envelops for Christmas this year.) And then cut the face parts from various colors of vinyl.
Not Your Normal Steam - Elmo Birthday InvitationNow that the invitations were done, it was time to manage the REST of the party.

Inspirations:

Sesame Street Party Posts:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

