Vegetarian Father’s day – well almost

Mr. Steam has a very eclectic cousin who lives in Alaska. Right now she is on a motorcycle trip from Florida back to Alaska. And she took a detour to spend some time with us.

And since she is vegetarian I had to hit my Pinterest board pretty hard to find some suitable vegetarian options for lunch.

I found two recipes that I had wanted to try. They looked like good sides for us and a good main for her. They were recipes that I hadn’t tried before, which made me a little nervous. But seriously, what could go wrong with veggies mixed with cheese??

The first recipe was Cheesy Broccoli bites from Po’man Meals. What’ not to love about the recipe?

  • Broccoli, which turned out to be our guests fav veggie – BONUS!
  • Cheese, who doesn’t love cheese??? Hey we live in WI. Which means cheese is included in EVERY meal
  • And they are bite sized

Not Your Normal Steam's Broccoli Bites
There is one serious problem with this recipe. There are NONE left! That should tell ya something. Yep, these babies were DELICIOUS! Which is great, but they were supposed to be the kids veggies for the week. Oh well, I guess I have to make more!

The second recipe is from Nancy Creative’s blog. This one I was a little less sure about. Zucchini can be so finicky to cook with due to its water content. And the recipe called for sage, which I have never paired with zucchini before. But hey we are always looking for new zucchini recipes and this one looked (and was) easy.

You have to admit that it sure was pretty coming out of the oven!
Not Your Normal Steam's Zucchini Pie
I did make one substitution, I used spicy Hungarian paprika instead of mild. It gave it a perfect level of ZING. And it was VERY VERY YUMMY!

And the sage was perfect with the zucchini. The sage gave it a wonderful earthiness. I may consider adding it to other zucchini recipes.

And because it is Father’s Day we splurged and had grilled steaks and sauteed mushrooms. All in all we couldn’t have asked for a better Father’s day meal or guests.

Inspiration & recipe:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

