Gone but not Forgotten

I haven’t forgotten about this blog. Its that my day job has been crazy. I got to take a three week trip to Hong Kong and Singapore which was an incredible and exhausting journey. I got to see some awesome sights and eat some amazing food. I am really hoping to make some of the food that I had over there. And no worries I’ll post here the results good or bad.

One of the dishes I want to try an make is called Chili Crab. Basically you take crab in the shell, cut it into quarters. Cook that baby up, then set it aside. In the same pot, er wok you make this AMAZING chili sauce. Then you throw the crab back in the wok shell and all to let it absorb the flavor. Let me tell ya it is one messy meal to eat. Somehow my Asian co-workers had no sauce on them at all, while me an my American co-workers were up to our elbows in Chili Crab sauce. The bread in the top left corner was just perfect for sopping up the sauce.
Singapore Chili Crab
In addition to the sites and the food, I was able to go out and get a little shopping done. I bought two meters of this amazing brocade red silk. I haven’t decided what I am going to make with it. But I am thinking a decorative table runner and some couch pillows. The picture doesn’t do it justice at all. I’ll have to try taking one outside. The red is SUPER bright and it totally changes color depending on the angle you view it.

Red Brocade silk

I need to get my craft groove back. I haven’t sewn on Millie since before I left. Which was April 26! Yikes! There’s a quilt loaded, I just haven’t had any time to get down to the craft cave.

M and I are also getting pretty excited about her upcoming 3rd birthday. Her shindig is later this month and is going to be a Sesame Street bonanza. Thankfully almost everything was finished before I left for Asia. I just have some last minute details and figure out what the heck I am going to make for food.

In other news N starts Tee Ball this week. This will be his first foray into team sports. He is pretty excited about it. I am a bit freaked out as I volunteered to be a coach. GULP. I asked to be an assistant coach as I haven’t ever coached baseball, but they made me the lead coach. DOUBLE GULP!!

I’ll put up some posts later about some of my other food adventures in Asia.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Precious Parties, Stupendous Sewing. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

