Love Cabin – Quilting Motifs for Sashing

So I have shared with you the overall quilt, the quilting on the pink logs and border. As well as the 12 of the 15 quilting fill patterns. Now do you want to know what I did in the red logs? It was so much fun!!!

On the inner set of red logs I wrote in cursive 15 things our family loves. After all it is the Love Cabin so I thought it was a perfect mix. And writing in cursive is SOOOOO easy to quilt. And both N & M got to help pick the words. Here’s what we came up with:

  • N’s name
  • M’s name
  • Mr Steam and Mrs Steam’s name
  • Steam Train
  • Wheeling
  • Camping
  • Cooking
  • Sewing
  • Swimming
  • Party
  • Reading
  • Hiking
  • Presents
  • Games
  • Crafting

Then on the outter red logs I did a different quilting motifs. They would all be perfect for sashing or borders.

The first set are all different letters. Lots of quilters use L & Es, but I had never thought about using other letters in sashing. A quilting buddy said she uses letters all the time. She thought that Js ans Ss would be perfect because they mimic the shape of  a heart. I also ended up using Zs, Os, and Ns because I thought they looked cool.
12 sashing and borders designs for quilting
On the rest of the blocks I used these sashing motifs. They were lots of fun and super easy to quilt. On the bottom two motifs I did mark where the “points” are, but other than that these were all mark free designs.
12 sashing and borders designs for quilting

And the great thing about these motifs is they can be modified so many different ways.

  • On the double loop – add another loop, or make the loops bigger
  • On the top two patterns, add a loop or double loop at the bottom of the curve
  • On the bottom pattern, if it was big enough you could add a fill pattern in the ovals
  • On the leaves (2nd from the bottom) add a few pebbles at the intersection to make berries or change up the leaf shape into an oak or holly leaf

Yes, yes I know 15 blocks and only 12 motifs? Well the other two patterns I used were a 1/2 feather and a feather kind of fan.

Oh and I had to draw them for you because they are really hard to see in the pictures. That’s ok I know they are there.

All in all I am thrilled with how the quilt turned out and now I can use it as a quilting library when I get stuck for quilting ideas.

I can’t wait to get started on the next one. Which is a good thing because it’s on the machine already!!!! I should have pictures to show you soon. I am going to do my first panto on this one so it should go pretty quick!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Love Cabin – Quilting Motifs for Sashing

  1. Kathleenj says:

    I have only a quilting foot and these are great ideas for me to get practice for my next quilt, many thanks

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

