Love Cabin – Borders and Sashings

Boy have I been having fun sewing with Millie. But that means I have been neglecting the blog. So I thought I’d catch you all up on what I have been working on.

I finished the Love Cabin in 2005. Good grief. Yep it’s been a while.

Love cabin

Its such a lovey quilt. Very fun and playful. So, I decided to do something fun with the quilting. I really have been wanting to try out a bunch of different quilting motifs, but some I am not sure I’d like so didn’t want to commit to a whole quilt. This quilt could be a sampler! Perfect. Each block could be different. It would give me a chance to try out a bunch of different quilting.

In the center of each block I would do a different filler. In the red “logs” I’d do a different sashing quilt motif. AWESOME!!! But that was going to be 15 different fillers and 15 different sashings. OH BOY!

I wanted some thing to keep the quilt pulled together. In the pink logs I used a template and did hearts in white.

Love cabin - hearts

I really struggled with how to do the borders and then remembered a flowing heart I had seen. So I used some chalk and drew some free hand hearts and just drew a loop to connect them. I really wanted to have the hearts pop and needed to practice my echoing. So viola! There’s the border. I am thrilled with how it turned out.
Love cabin - heart border

Tomorrow I’ll show you some of my favorite fill patterns that I used.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Love Cabin – Borders and Sashings

  1. Nancy J says:

    Beautiful!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

