Pie Are Square, but this Runner Looks Like a Pie!

So two years after I finished making the Fruit and Vegetable placemats, I was still trying to figure out just the right design for the matching table runner.

I had also been really wanting to make something similar to the Simple Spring Table Runner on Moda Bake Shop site. Its a cute table runner made up of separate round blocks. The blocks are bound, and I really dislike binding small projects. I knew I wanted to flip them instead of binding them. But I also knew that if I left an opening on the outside edge, I’d never get it to look round when I sewed it shut.

But if I cut a hole in the center of one of the fabrics I could flip them thru that hole and just applique on a decorative “patch.” SOLD!

All I had to do was pick out the fabrics I wanted to use and get started. Here’s how I made it.

1) Trace the circle on to the back of your fabric.  I used a 12 1/2″ charger which left me with 12″ blocks.
Trace out the circle

2) Fold the fabric your are going to add the applique to in quarters and cut a 2 – 3″ slit. Which means when you cut it should only be 1 – 1 1/2″ because the fabric is folded in half. This is how you will turn the block right side out.
Fold in quarters and cut a 2" slit

3) Make your quilt sandwich. 1st the batting, 2nd fabric right side up, 3rd fabric right side down. The 3rd fabric needs to be the one that you just cut the slit in. That fabric must be on the top of the sandwich.
Quilt sandwich

4) Sew all the way around on the line you traced.
Sew the blocks

5) Turn your block the right die out thru the cut slit. Use a dowel or turning tool to press the seams out.
Turn the blocks right side out

6) Press the block after it has been turned.
Iron the blocks flat

7) Cut out a circle (or different applique shape) and fuse it over top of the cut slit. Sew down the applique piece with a blanket stitch or your preferred stitch. Quilt your block as desired. I did concentric circles that I marked with chalk.
Quilting the blocks

8) Sew a button on one side of the block, on the other side sew a button hole. Repeat this for each of the blocks.

And here’s the finished project.  There are eight 12″ blocks. I really love how it turned out. You can put out just 2 or 3 circles of your preferred color. Or you can put all of them out in a circle or oval. And with them being reversible the combinations of layouts are enormous.
15 space

Blocks 1 & 2Blocks 3 & 4

Blocks 5 & 6Blocks 7 & 8

All 8 BlocksFlip Side

15 space
Inspiration:

Moda Bake Shop – Simple Spring Table Runner

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Pie Are Square, but this Runner Looks Like a Pie!

  1. Nancy J says:

    Again, amazing, beautiful!!!

  2. becky says:

    Love it!!!!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

