Hot Gifts to Keep your Cool this Christmas

9 days until ChristmasWith only 9 days until Christmas we have reached my cutoff for homemade Christmas presents. If I haven’t started it by now that poor person is going to get a *gasp* store bought gift.

It happened this year to my mother in law. I still have the supplies I need, but I am pretty confident I won’t finish her gift in time, but no worries. She’ll either get it for her birthday or Mother’s day. So bonus, I got an early start on that gift.

This is, however, the time when I usually start bonus gifts. Again going on the theme of quick and useful I love making hot pads. Hot pads don’t really qualify a stand alone gift (unless it’s a co-worker gift). But they are a great bonus gift. I have made them in several varieties.
1) Plain pot holders. These were super easy and took no time at all. I simply used some quilters cotton and some Insul-Brite. I didn’t even add a hanging tab on this set.

  • Cut 2 pieces of quilting cotton, 1 piece of cotton batting, and 1 piece of Insul-Brite about 6″ x 8″
  • Layer the quilting cotton right sides together then the cotton batting, and finally the Insul-Brite on top
  • Sew a 3/8″ seam around the edges, leaving 3″-4″ not sewn
  • Flip the whole ensemble right side out through the un-sewn hole
  • Top stitch around the whole  pot holder making sure that you sew close the opening
  • Sew a X across the pot holder and a line across the middle. This will make them easier to fold and pick up a hot pan.

Easy Pot Holders - Quilters cotton and Insul-Brite

2) Pot holders from novelty fabric. These add a little interest by using some novelty fabric. And this time I added some hanging tabs. They were made with the same method as above only add a 3″ length of ribbon on one corner to make a hanging tab.Coffee Pot Holders

3) Appliqued pot holder. These were made with the same method as the first set except for after the pot holders were sewn shut, cut out some applique pieces, fuse them to the pot holder and sew them down. Be careful when fusing the applique pieces. The Insul-Brite is heat resistant, but not heat proof. If the iron is too hot or left on the pot holder too long you could melt the poly film.Holly pot holder

4) Appliqued pre-made pot holder. If you can’t get your hands on some Insul-Brite, or don’t feel brave enough to make a pot holder you can simply decorate a pre-made pot holder. I got these at my local craft shop, but you could use some from the Dollar Store or home goods store.

Snowman pot holder

I hope some of my ideas this month have inspired you to make some homemade gifts this year. If you have been inspired I’d love to hear from you and see what you made.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

