Santa Baby (homemade presents for the baby on your list)

10 days until ChristmasSo you say you have a baby on your Christmas list but you don’t have any ideas what to make. Well let me see if I can help you. Here are some gifts that I have made for the different babies in my life.

1) Taggies are all the rage right now. So why not make your own? I got a fabric book pattern at my local quilt shop and to make it a little more interesting to my son I added some satin ribbon tags.

Taggy Book

2) Texture blankets are great for the little bitty babies. I used scraps of various different fabric I had around: minky, flannel, corduroy, terry cloth, faux suede, velvet, and satin. For a little extra interest I sewed in a mylar balloon. It adds a great crinkle sound. You could also add tags to these. But I thought the textures and crinkle were enough.
Krinkle blankets

3) How about a toddler purse? There are so many great ones out there. Here are two I made. M loves hers. Of course her favorite thing to put in them are her brother’s hot wheels.
Toddler purseToddler purse

4) A gift that may not be so much for the baby, but the mom will sure appreciate. A snack bag. I made mine out of quilting cotton. I did not put any water proofing on it as I couldn’t find anything that was food safe. So we use it for dry snacks. We LOVE them and use them all the time. When they get a little crumby they can just be thrown in the wash. I am not embarassed to admit that we have 6 (OK, so I am a little embarrassed. But they are so cute.)
Snack Bag

5) How about hair bows and a hair bow organizer. I made a ton of hair bows for M. There are tons of great tutorials out there. But I didn’t have anywhere to store them. So I also made the hair bow organizer. The bucket came from the dollar bin at Target.  The flowers are wood disks I got at my craft store and painted. Then I hot glued the flowers to some painted dowel rod. I put some green floral foam in the bucket and stuck in the dowel rods. The bucket sits on a shelf and I can easily get to M’s bows while I am getting her dressed.
Hair Bows Hair bow organizer

Hopefully this gave you some ideas of what you might be able to make for that baby on your list. Here are the sites where I got the instructions for the items I made.

Inspiration:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts, Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

