Coasting to Christmas

13 days until ChristmasThere is still time to make some homemade gifts for Christmas. You just have to find gifts that can be made quickly, but still look like you SLAVED over them.

Another of my go to gifts are coasters. There are so many different materials that you can use for coasters.

These coasters are made on stone tiles that I got by the box at a home improvement store. I stamped the images using StazOn ink. Once they dried overnight I sprayed them with some sealant.  And I added some small round furniture felt pads on the back so they wouldn’t scratch anything.

Stamped stone coasters

I used the same stamping technique for these coasters, but added some vinyl letters that I cut out with my Cricut. I thought they needed a little bit more since the stamp was smaller. The vinyl I used is actually shelf liner I got at the hardware store as well. So much cheaper than buying craft vinyl. I got 75 feet for $30. That should be enough vinyl to last for QUITE a few projects.

The stamps are all lighthouses in Door County, WI. The stamps are from an awesome stamping shop called Oscars.
Stamped stone coasters

Another great thing about these tiles as a gift is they are very cost effective. I gave sets of 4 coasters.

  • Tiles – 9 for $4.00 – $2.00 per set
  • Felt pads – 28 for $2.00 – $0.30 per set
  • Shelf liner – 75 ft for $30 – $0.40 per set
  • Sealer – on hand
  • Stamps – on hand
  • StazOn – on hand

Inspiration / Supplies:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

