A Very Quilted Christmas

14 days until ChristmasAnother of my favorite gifts to give are quilted wall hangings. You can do just about anything in a wall hanging. You can match a person’s decor. You can make a seasonal or holiday wall hanging. They can be pieced or applique. And they can be any size to fit just about any space. I have done wall hangings that are almost the size of a bed quilt to as small as a note pad. Here are some of my favorites that may give you some ideas for gifts this year.

Santa TrioSnowman trioThese trios were great. They were kits from Jeri Kelly. That meant the fabric was ready picked out for me! BONUS! All I had to do was cut up the fabric and sew it back together.

Nativity wall hangings are perfect for capturing the meaning of Christmas. The nativity on the left is from The Creative Iron. They make laser cut quilt designs.

They what Steam?

No joke. They sell the black part PRE-CUT! Yes pre-cut. AND with the fusible already on it! Oh yea! All you have to do is pick out a background, iron it down and make your quilt! And because they use heavy duty fusible they don’t even recommend that you sew down the applique. So you get a super easy, super awesome looking gift.

The one on the right is a design from Art to Heart (my favorite favorite favorite applique designer). This one was truly a labor of love. All of the fabrics came out of my stash. And some of the pieces of fabric have special meaning. Joseph’s robe is made from fabric that was out of my mom’s quilting stash from the 70s! How cool is that? And there are tons of embellishments from bells on the sheep necks to fringe on the camel blanket to metallic thread for the quilting on the star.

Silhouette NativityApplique Nativity

Applique not your game? No problem. How about a log cabin angel? She was a ton of fun to stitch. Log cabins really piece so quickly.

I just love adding embellishments to my wall quilts, and this one is no exception.  She has some roses on her slippers and in her hair, “diamond” earings, and of course plenty of ornaments in the trees.

Log cabin angel
I hope these quilts have given you some ideas of quilt quilt projects you can do for Christmas.

Inspiration:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A Very Quilted Christmas

  1. Marguerite says:

    BEAUTIFUL wall quilts. I don’t know how you get so much done! The laser-cut quilt is really tempting, I’m glad you didn’t post this several months ago, or i would have a couple of purchased quilt pieces making me feel guilty for not getting to them this year. I might look into getting one or two in February, to work on when it’s cozy to just stay home and putter.

    • Thanks Marguerite. In part because I do a lot of multitasking, in part because my kids are great at entertaining themselves, in part their play room is in the same space as the craft cave, and in no small part because Mr. Steam makes sure my weekends I get as much crafting time as I need to stay sane.

  2. Patty Poot says:

    Beautiful! Where can I find the log cabin angel quilt?

    Thanks

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

