A Window into my World

15 days until ChristmasAs I have mentioned before I love picture cards. But I really like making homemade cards. So every year I try to figure out a way I can make a card that integrates a picture of the kiddos.

This year I REALLY wanted to use a window frame. Early in the year I had found a die that cuts a wonderful window frame. But I figured out a way I could combine various rectangles and arcs in my Cricut Craft Room to cut a very similar window. And the bonus of using the Cricut Craft Room was I could make the window any size I needed.

The window frame by itself looked so lonley. So I cut some holly leaves at the top with some Stickles for holly berries. It still wasn’t quit right, but adding a sentiment at the bottom with some red brads and I knew I had the outside designed.
Window frame Christmas card

I new EXACTLY the picture picture I wanted to use. My inspiration picture was of a little boy all dressed up in a nice shirt and tie wearing a Santa hat on a tricycle. He is dragging a Santa bag of toys behind. Well N has a tricycle that he calls the “trailer biWindow frame Christmas cardke.” That’s because it’s a tricycle with a wagon style trailer. PERFECT!I got a Santa hat and an Elf hat at the Dollar Store. Then I made a “North Pole or Bust” sign for the trailer and a holly leaf flag to cover the orange safety flag. And that is exactly what I had in mind.

The only problem was there was no room for the short family letter. But I solved that by sliding it behind the picture. Where there’s a will there IS a way!
So N and I got to working and cranked out a whole mess of cards. I always sign the back of my cards and since this year N helped he also got to sign the back. He was very proud to be able to do that. As a matter of fact he wanted to hand deliver the cards to Grandma and Papa so he could show them what he did to help.

Window frame Christmas card

Inspiration:

  • Trike Photo – Ty Bebe Photography, but found on Confessions of a Prop Junkie
  • Window Die – Poppy Stamp
About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Creative Cards and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

