The Peg Dolls are Comming to Town

16 days until ChristmasSo all of the gifts I had planned on making the kids this year are done. But I couldn’t resist making just one more.

Peg Dolls!

There are so many cute peg dolls out there. And the beauty of a peg doll is it can be ANYTHING!

I was really worried how hard they would be to paint. So I only bought 2 to start with. That way if they were too hard I wouldn’t have dozens sitting around.

I was pleasantly surprised to find out they were super easy to paint. So back to the store I went for a DOZEN!!!

The hardest part was deciding what I wanted to paint. The general idea was easy. Sesame Street for M, super heroes for N, and something geeky for Mr. Steam. But which ones??!!!

M’s Sesame Street Peg Dolls: Elmo was an easy choice as that is M’s absolute favorite right now. Oscar was too much fun with the trash, so I just had to paint him. Big bird is M’s 2nd favorite, so that was a keeper too. But what to do for the 4th doll? Well M is a bottomless pit and can out eat almost anyone in the family. So yep, dool #4 HAD to be Cookie!
Sesame Street Peg Dolls

N’s peg dolls HAD to be Super Heroes! N’s has four favorite super heroes so those were easy to pick. Let me present you the Spider Man, Bat Man, Iron Man, and Captain America peg dolls.
Superhero Peg Dolls

But my favorite of all the peg dolls are the ones for Mr. Steam. They were the hardest choice. Should I make Star Trek? Star Wars? Dr. Who? Well Star Trek the Next Generation is my favorite. So that’s what I went with. With that selected I went with the most identifiable characters.

Data was fun. I painted his skin with a lighter skin tone and then painted white iridescent over the top.

Dr. Crusher’s flowing locks were a challenge but I think they turned out pretty good.

Captain Picard was probably the easiest. Bald head, grey hair, and captain pins.

Riker (Number One) was always my favorite. His beard was a challenge. But I am pretty happy with how it turned out.

Worf’s head ridges were fairly easy. The bandoleer was more of a challenge. But I think he looks like a good Klingon.

Jordy’s visor came out pretty good.

Here’s the crew of the U.S.S. Enterprise (NCC-1701-D):

Star Trek Next Generation Peg Dolls

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

