Stockings Were Sewn in the Craft Cave with Care

19 days until ChristmasWhen I was little I think the stocking presents were my favorite part of Christmas. Stocking presents were more than just presents. I held on to my stocking wondering what wonders there were this year. Then I wold reach my little arm in and feel around for the first treasure. Once that treasure was discovered there would be another treasure. And I never knew how many treasures there would be. That was part of the mystery. When would you get to the end.

My mom Santa would always do such a great job with the presents in our stockings. Sometimes there were crafting supplies, sometimes a deck of cards, always some kind of exotic fruit like kumquats or a pomegranate.

I wanted to have that same special feeling for my kids. And I wanted to make them stockings that they would be proud to have even when they were adults. I found patterns  that I just LOVE. I made Mr. Steam’s first. The pattern is Harry’s Stocking by Shepard’s Bush. I modified Santa to be an engineer, changed the colors for the train to be more realistic, and changed some of the decorations to be less frilly.

Mr Steam's Stocking

I have similar Shepard’s Bush patterns for the rest of us as well, but it has been taking me way too long to get them done. So last year I decided to sew up some simple cuffed stockings.

N LOVES monster trucks and since I had some fabric left over from another project that is what he got. He LOVES it. M was only 1 year old and didn’t really have any preferences at the time so I just used some cute teddy bear fabric. I have some Christmas Elmo fabric so I may make her a new on this year. I love all things bling. I had some cute snowman fabric with gold accents and some stripe fabric with gold accents, so that’s what I used for mine.
Monster Truck StockingTeddy Bear Stocking

Snowmen Stocking

And of course being that the stockings are hung in the Steam house hold they have to share the fireplace hooks with genuine train lanterns.

The Stockings were Hung

Inspiration:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

