All Dressed Up and Plenty of Places to Go!

20 days until ChristmasWe had a Christmas kick off weekend. It was jam packed with our family Christmas traditions, new activities we hadn’t done before and more Christmas crafting.

Friday night we drove into town to look at a neighborhood that really goes all out with their outdoor Christmas decorations. I was so much fun listening to the kids ooh and ahh over every little detail of the various decorations. And it was a really great start to December.

Friday during nap time I made M a new shirt to wear for our weekend excursions. Its a shirt that I have been wanting to make for quite some time. I just happened to have a shirt left over from my animal costumes I had made the kids this summer and I have boat loads of ribbon.

The shirt was super easy to make. I picked out the different ribbon I wanted to use and cut them to length. The bottom ribbon was 6 1/2″ long and each ribbon above it was 1/2 shorter. The last ribbon ended up being 1 1/2″ long. I did two strips of brown velvet ribbon for the trunk. I used a candle to seal the cut edges of the ribbon, All the ribbon got sewn down along the edges. Then, I tied a bow and tacked it on top of the tree. I didn’t even bother stabilizing the t-shirt in anyway. I was just super careful to not stretch it as I sewed. From start to finish the project took less than 2 hrs and most of that was deciding which ribbons to use.
Christmas Tree Ribbon Shirt
I was very happy with the result. It was almost exactly as I had pictured it. M, however, was less than thrilled with the shirt. There was no Elmo or Ducky on it. But I told her that Santa would really like it, so she reluctantly wore it to go visit Santa an his reindeer. (The cookie as huge as your head bribe didn’t hurt any either.)

Visiting Santa’s reindeer was a blast. They even had some antlers that had been shed in previous years for the kids to touch. I picked one up and man it was HEAVY! If I had to walk around with that on my head all day I’d have a head ache!
Santa and reindeerSanta's reindeer
The fire truck may have impressed N more than the reindeer, but it was still a fun time. I sure hope the town invites the reindeer back again next year!

Afterwards we spent the day decorating the house. The kids put up the trees in their room. They really love to have their own tree. I have sorted out all the not breakable ornaments and they get to put those on their tree. That way I don’t worry so much if a tree gets knocked over while they are playing in their room.

N's Tree M's Tree
Sunday was even more Santa fun with a trip to our fire department. This time after the kids spoke to Santa they got a RIDE in a fire truck. And since there wasn’t a line for the rides Mr. Steam and I got to go for a ride to! WHOOOPIE!!! Once a kid always a kid right?!
Fire Station Santa

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

