The solution to all your problems? Floor pillows.

21 days until ChristmasYou have to love it when a plan come together especially when that plan takes 4 years and brings together 3 different dilemias into a single solution.

FOUR years? THREE problems? ONE solution? Oh yes my friends, it’s true!

Problem 1: The project

Mom had asked me for quite a while to make her some covers for some floor pillows she had purchased. They are awesome HUGE pillows that are MEANT to go on the floor?! OH yea, AWESOME.

But these awesome pillows really deserved an equally awesome covering. And, I just couldn’t decide what I wanted to do with them.

Problem 2: The fabric

On our honeymoon, (yes I said honeymoon. yes that long ago) I found the perfect north woods fabric for my mom. It had just the right shade of green and the perfect shade of burgundy that she is so very fond of. I had the fabric forever and just couldn’t decide what the perfect project. I just couldn’t cut the fabric.

Problem 3: The patterns

I had two really 12″ patterns but I didn’t want to make a whole quilt out of them.

THE SOLUTION!!!!!

Use 4 of the blocks for each pillow. That would be able to showcase the blocks without having to make a TON of them. Use the north wood fabrics. There would be just enough to make 2 pillows. The pillows would be totally unique and just the right shades of green and red.

North Woods Applique Floor PillowNorth Woods Pieced Floor Pillow
Don’t you love it when a plan comes together?

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

