Justice League goes Glam for Christmas

28 days until ChristmasThe Santa ornaments were a lot of fun to make and I am really happy with how they turned out. But I wanted something more. I wanted to make some ornaments that would be really special for my kids. I wanted them to be something that THEY really loved.

Ok, yes, I realize they are children, so of course the love Santa. But I wanted something that captured who they are right now, this year.

When I saw the Superhero Ornaments that Meg over at Happy Looks Good on You, I knew I HAD to make them. N LOVES superheroes. He dresses up as them several times a week. Some of his hardest choices are which costume he is going to wear.

Megs ornaments look awesome, and she has a great tutorial. But I decided to mix it up a little. Here are the modifications that I made:

  • Glitter instead of paint. Because who doesn’t like a little bling?
  • Plastic ornaments instead of glass. This way N could hang them up on the tree in his room this year without me worrying that they will break. When he plays with them. Because face it they are too cool for a 5 year old NOT to play with.
  • Flattened ornaments instead of balls. I was thinking it would be easier to keep the stickers from wrinkling from trying to make a 2D image fit on a 3D surface.
  • Avery labels instead of glue or a sticker maker. Avery labels are my go to solution when I want an image to stick.

Here’s what we ended up with. All of N’s favorite super heroes….
2012 Super Hero Ornaments
Well technically it’s 4 of N’s favorite super heroes and MY favorite superhero. Who would that be? WONDER WOMAN of course!

Wonder Woman Ornament
And don’t worry, I didn’t forget about the perfect ornament for M. But you will just have to wait until tomorrow to see those.

Inspiration:

**** For all of you super hero buffs out there. Yes I realize that not all of the superheroes depicted are Justice League. But hey, the kid likes what he likes. I am not going to argue technicalities with him ***

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Justice League goes Glam for Christmas

  1. Squirrell says:

    I’m glad you added that, as my superhero buff asked me to read him the page, and asked why you didn’t talk about the Avengers, and only talked about the superfriends, since Cap and Spidey are on the list. 🙂

  2. jacob says:

    Couple of questions. What did you mean when you said you used flattened ornaments? (they look like balls to me) and where did you get them? Also did you fill the entire ornament with glitter? Thanks for the idea!

    • Thanks for stopping by Jacob.

      They do kinda look round in the picture. But if I were to turn then sideways you’d see that they are kinda oval shaped. Like you took a round ornament and squished it flat. Because they were flatter on the front it helped the stickers lay flat better.

      I got mine at Michaels. But most any big box store should have them.

      No I didn’t fill the whole ornament with glitter. That would have been way too expensive as I made over twenty ornaments this way this year. If you go to the link for Sassy Scrapper – Video Tutorial with Floor Polish, that has the instructions of how to use floor polish like glue on the inside of the ornament so it just gets a coating of glitter on the inside.

      Hope this helps!

  3. Megan says:

    Hi! I wanted to know how long it took for the wax and glitter to dry?

  4. Carla says:

    Wonderful idea. I want to make my 6 month old son a superhero tree. He was born 7 weeks early this year and he is our little “Superman!” My question is how do you get a precise cut of the logos or did you use clear sticker labels?

  5. andrea says:

    Hello
    Just found your post love this and the steam trains. As a kid in Kentucky my dad took me on many trains. I collect wonder woman stuff so this year doing doing a tree of superheros this will be great fun Thank you.

  6. Michele says:

    i just came across this blog. I have been trying to make something like this and post just helped me out. Thanks. I have one question, what did you use to cut the labels so perfectly and any place in particular to find the logos?

    • I am glad this was helpful! To cut the circles I used my Cuttlebug with my circle Nesabilities dies. But I just used scissors on my Sesame Street ornaments. So if you don’t have a die cutting machine, scissors work fine.

  7. Pingback: Have Yourself a Geeky Little Christmas - Our Worlds of Adventure

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

