Homemade Christmas Ornament Countdown – Day 10

30 days until ChristmasThis is the last of my favorite ornaments that I have made over the years. Tomorrow I can show you this year’s ornament. I am so excited to show you both of them.

Before I started quilting, cross stitch was my addition craft of choice. And I loved doing miniature cross stitch. 20 count or higher.

When I found these scissor fob patterns I knew they would make great ornaments. I love doing little projects like this because I can throw all the supplies in my purse and sew in the waiting room, at kids gymnastics lessons, or other various times of the day when you find yourself waiting.

I don’t know all the patterns, but I do have some of them recorded:

  • Top Left – Winter Scissor Keeper by Drawn Thread
  • Top Right – Christmas Heart by Sekas & Co.
  • Bottom Left & Center – Were out of a Cross Stitch Christmas ornament magazine
  • Bottom Right – Snowman Scissor Keeper by Drawn Thread (bottom right)

Cross Stitch Ornaments

After the patterns were stitched I cut them out with a 1/4″ seam allowance. I sewed them with some Christmas print fabric right sides together on a sewing machine. I left about a 1″ opening. Flipped them right side out and stuffed them with some fiber fill. I used the eraser end of a pencil to get the stuffing into the corners. Then I whip stitched the opening.  And hand stitched on the cording.

Ornament countdown links:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

