Homemade Christmas Ornament Countdown – Day 9

31 days until ChristmasOnly one more day in the countdown of my favorite ornaments and then you will get to see this year’s ornament. Are you excited? I am!!

These ornaments were the first and only (so far) time I brought my quilting skills into the fray. For the life of me I can’t remember what gave me the idea to try this.

Supplies you’ll need:

  • Fabric scraps
  • 1/8″ ribbon
  • Coordinating thread
  • Peltex preferably Peltex 72 which has fusible on both sides
  • Iron
  • Sewing Machine

First think you’ll need to do is decide what block you want to make. Trust me when I say the simpler the better. With such small blocks you don’t want a lot of corners that you have to meet. A) It very hard to get your corners to match up nice when working so small B) the build up of seam allowance is really exaggerated when working on small blocks.

I ended up selecting Courthouse Steps (top left), Log Cabin (top right),  Wreath (bottom left), and Churn and Dash (bottom right). The courthouse steps and log cabin were by far the easiest to have look nice because there were no seams to line up and no build up of seam allowance at the inter sections.

Next sew your blocks. I made mine 2″ finished size.  Yes, that made for some odd dimensions for the wreath and churn and dash. But I wanted them SMALL and I thought 3″ would be too big.

I still used 1/4″ seams when sewing. I know some people use 1/8″ seams, but sewing anything other than a 1/4″ for this quilter feels weird. I did however sew the HSTs for the wreath and churn and dash oversize and trim them down. It was just to hard to get them the right size otherwise.

Once your blocks are sewns, cut about 6″ of ribbon.

Now cut your Peltex to size and cut a piece of fabric for the back to size. Peltex 72 will have fusible on both sides if you were able to get that you will just be able to fuse your fabric to the Peltex. Otherwise if there is no fusible on it simply base the very edges of the block to your Peltex so it doesn’t shift while sewing the edges.

Pur your ribbon on a corner of the Peltex so the cut edges point to the middle of the Peltex and the ribbon makes a loop. Tack it down with your machine.

Fuse or baste down the backing fabric on top of the ribbon. Be sure not to sew down the ribbon loop.

Turn your ornament over and fuse or baste down the ornament block.

Trim the edges of your block if needed.

Satin stitch around the edge of the block to seal the edges.

VIOLA! Adorable mini quilt block ornament!
Mini Quilt Block Ornament - Courthouse StepsMini Quilt Block Ornament - Log Cabin

Mini Quilt Block Ornament - Wreath BlockMini Quilt Block Ornament - Churn and Dash

Mini Quilt Block Ornament - Set

Ornament countdown links:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

