Homemade Christmas Ornament Countdown – Day 8

32 days until ChristmasWe are getting to the last few ornaments in my top 10 favorite. I am so excited to show you this year’s ornaments. But you are going to have to wait a few more days.

In my last house the whole upstairs was decorated in a garden theme. And I had to have a tree for the upstairs, but I didn’t have any ornaments to fit in with that theme. So of course I had to make some, but what to make?

Well, on a trip to my craft shop I found these cute pre-cut wooden birdhouses. And I thought they’d be perfect for Christmas ornaments. They were fun to make because I got to decide on the design and wasn’t restricted to the pattern molded on like I was with the plaster ornaments.

Supplies:

  • Fine and medium size paint brushes
  • Several colors of paint
  • Small screw eye hooks
  • Fishing line or pretty ribbon
  • Drill and drill bit one size smaller than the eye hooks
  • Vice or some method to mechanically hold the wood blanks, you don’t want to hold them in your hand when drilling the hole for the eye hook.

The process to make these is quite simple and they are so adorable when they are really adorable. They are only about 2 to 3 inches in size.

  • Before painting put the ornament in the vice
  • Drill the hole for the eye hook. I put the eye hook in before painting for two reasons. 1) If I cracked the ornament from drilling I was less heartbroken because I hadn’t painted it yet 2) The eye hook gave you something to hold on to while painting.
  • Put the eye hook in – buy a few more than you need I had a few break off. Be careful twisting them in they are on the delicate side. Do not over tighten.
  • Paint
  • Thread the fishing line / ribbon thru the eye hook and tie so you have a loop hanger. VIOLA! Pretty and adorable bird house.

Wooden Birdhouse OrnamentWooden Birdhouse Ornament

Wooden Birdhouse OrnamentWooden Birdhouse Ornament

Wooden Birdhouse OrnamentWooden Birdhouse Ornament

Ornament countdown links:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

