Homemade Christmas Ornament Countdown – Day 6

34 days until ChristmasFirst let me warn you that these ornament are NOT for the faint of heart or little of patience. They are not a quick “Hey I’ll whip up 20 ornaments in one night” kind or ornament.

What they are is totally adorable, but painstaking. When I made these I was still single and had no kids. In other words I had WAY more time to play with than I do now.  Would I do them again? Maybe, because they are that cute. But I’d have to start in JULY! Grin.

Here’s how I made them:

  1. Find the mini cookie cutters. I found mine at a candy supply store.
  2. Find a cross stitch pattern that will fit inside the cookie cutters or design your own. I had a pattern but for the life of me I can’t find it now.
  3. Stitch your pattern on Aida cloth. I normally use linen or some type of even weave fabric when I stitch. But for these ornaments I wanted the extra stiffness that Aida provides.
  4. Trace the cookie cutter on to the Aida cloth and cut it out.
  5. Mount the Aida cloth to some very thin cardboard or thick card stock.
  6. Glue some pretty fabric or scrapbook paper to the other side of the cardboard
  7. Make sure the cardboard sandwich will fit snugly in the cookie cutter. Adjust as necessary.
  8. Put some glue on the out side edge of the cardboard sandwich and slide it into the cookie cutter.
  9. Put some ribbon on the cookie cutter and then go have a drink you are done.

Cookie Cutter Cross Stitch Ornaments

Ornament countdown links:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Curious Crafts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

