Snowglobe shake up

46 days until ChristmasI love picture Christmas cards. Love love love them. I love seeing my friends on vacation cards, my friends kids cards, my friends family cards. Love them all!

But the dilemma I have is that I REALLY love to make cards. For me making cards is like quilting but with paper. You take different colors, different patterns, cut them up, add a stamp, maybe some bling, and VIOLA a quilt card!

But how to combine the picture card with a homemade card? I have a great idea for this year that I can’t wait to show you. But it will have to wait until they are actually done.

For now do you want to see what I did for the first homemade picture card I did? Do ya??? Well let me go get it for you.

Snow Globe Picture Christmas Card

This card was a lot of firsts for me. When I saw the snow globe stamp at my local craft store I immediately knew what I wanted to do.

I embossed the base layer and then used glimmer mist to add a frost effect. It was the first time I used it. I really like the look it gave.

On both the bottom and the snow globe accent I used Silver embossing powder to add another level of bling. This was the first time I used embossing powder and have it look decent.

And I decided that it wasn’t quite enough bling so I added the sparkly ribbon on the side.

But the best part is the snow globe. I glued the picture down and then used double stick foam to create a solid boundary around the picture. Then I cut some acetate (I used overhead transparency sheets) and taped it to the hole on the snow globe. Before I sealed it down I put a bit of glitter on the picture. Once the snow globe was attached the kids were in their own snow globe! How cool is that?!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Creative Cards and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Snowglobe shake up

  1. Diane Bean says:

    How do i get one of these in MY mailbox???

  2. ldome says:

    very cool!!

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

