Unexpected Surprise and Unplanned Project

This morning we packed up the family and headed out to go see Santa on a train.He came in on WSOR’s historic E9 engine. Isn’t that a sharp looking engine?

Santa visiting on WSOR's E9

Santa couldn’t stay very long. So we didn’t have time to sit on his lap. But that didn’t stop N & M from asking him for their special Christmas present.

N bravely asked for a “motion control dump truck and motion control trailer with no cords please.” Sigh. Where the heck am I going to find a remote control dump truck? With a remote control trailer? And no I am NOT making one (although Mr. Steam could if he had time). And I am really asking! It’s not rhetorical!

M stood right up and asked for a “Elmo PackPack.” Phew! Glad her Santa request hasn’t faltered! I at least have that one covered.

N asking Santa for his gift

Santa brought some friends with him. The Marine Corps Reserves were collecting toys for tots. I was so proud of both kids. They had picked out their toys the night before. And both of them wanted to keep the toy very badly. But we discussed quite a bit that Santa was running way behind on toy production and if we didn’t help out there would be kids that wouldn’t get toys this year.  Both of them walked right up and gave their toy to the Marine.

Donating to Marine Corps Toys for Tots

On the way down to see Santa we had our unexpected surprise. Ok, so yea all surprises are unexpected. I know. But it sure was a pleasant surprise.

A quilt shop that I had never been to before. WHAT? That was a condition that just HAD to be remedied.

M and I perused the wonderful fabric in the shop. And I got my 2nd surprise. M pointing here and there and almost everywhere – “I want to buy DAT fabric!” I do believe I have succeeded in corrupting another young mind. Bwahahahaha (evil laugh)!

It was actually hubs that came up with the 3rd surprise a wonderful find that has lead to the unexpected project. This awesome vintage camper fabric. Its just perfect for a “bed” quilt for the pop up camper we bought this summer.

Camper Fabric

I am not quite sure what I will be making with it, but I think something like the steam train quilt I made Mr. Steam. Maybe fussy cut out the campers and use them in the snowball blocks that make mock stars. I adore star quilts. Ah well, I have plenty of time to think about it. I won’t start cutting until the Christmas presents are done.

train quilt

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

