Rugs, Mugs and Christmas Oh MY!

53 Days until ChristmasWith only 53 (eeek!) more days until Christmas I decided it was time to take a break from finishing off the kids presents and get started on my co-workers presents.

Ok, so yea, it’s really more that I don’t want to face fixing upside down bat. But, hey, at least I am being productive while I am task avoiding. Right?

So I have quite a few team members that I am responsible for and I really prefer to either make or buy the same thing for everyone.  The team is a mix of ages and both men and women. So finding something that works for everyone (and doesn’t break the bank) can be a challenge.

But the ALL have one thing in common. They all either drink tea or coffee.

So off to the Dollar Store it was to see if I could find some various colored coffee mugs. But I found something BETTER!

Christmas MugLOVE IT! But a Dollar Store coffee mug alone does not a make a Christmas gift. At least not in my book.

No problem.

digs thru stash….

digs some more…

AH HA! A few strips of various red scraps, some white scraps, some fusible, and a little red ric-rac to finish it off. And VIOLA!!!! MUG RUG!

Ornament Mug RugOk so it was a little more complicated that that. But not much.Other than picking out fabric the whole mug rug took less than 1 hr to cut, piece and quilt.

And I think they look spectacular together.  Don-cha think?

Chrismas Ornament Mug and Mug RugI’ll probably make some chocolate truffles as an extra little treat to go with the mugs and rugs. Now that’s a great co-worker gift!

One down only a dozen more to go. I better get back down to the craft cave and start sewing.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting, Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

