Chicken Enchalada Soup

One of my favorite lunch spots is Botanas. Its a Mexican restaurant in the center of the Latin quarter in Milwaukee. One of my favorite parts of eating there is the Enchilada soup. It is soooooo yummy! So I decided to try to make my own version. Each time I have made it I keep changing it. And each time I like it more.

I love making this soup because I can either use a precooked rotisserie chicken or raw chicken depending on what’s cheapest. I have included the directions for both versions.

The second awesome thing about this recipe. I ALWAYS have these ingredients in the house.

And the triple win… with minimal prep (seriously, how hard is it to dice an onion and shred some chicken?) I can put something in the crock pot and it’s ready in time for lunch. And you know what that means? MORE CRAFTING TIME!!!! See, I told you this was an awesome recipe!

Here’s the current version versions.

Ingredients:

  • Chicken – used 3 leg / thighs this time ’cause they were on mega sale or 1 rotisserie chicken
  • 2 onions diced (if you have one of those softball sized onions only use 1)
  • 1 lg can enchilada sauce
  • 1 lg can diced tomatoes
  • 2 cans cheese soup
  • 1/2 c taco seasoning
  • 1 1/2 c water
  • 3 corn tortillas diced
  • 1 can of chili beans
  • 1 c of frozen corn
  • garnishes – grated cheese, scallions, avocado, tortilla chips, cilantro

Direction 1: Raw Chicken

Add the chicken to the bottom of the crock pot. Add everything except the beans, corn and garnishes to the crock pot.

Cook for 5ish hrs on low.

Pull out the chicken and use a stick blender to puree the soup – optional.

Shred the chicken & add back to soup with beans and corn. Cook for another 1/2 hr.

Serve with your choice of garnish.

Direction 2: Rotisserie Chicken

Add the onion, enchilada sauce, tomatoes, cheese soup, taco seasoning, water and tortillas to the crock pot. Blend with a stick blender (optional). I like this soup both ways, smooth or chunky, so it depends on my mood if I blend it or not.

Cook on low for 5ish hours.

Shred the rotisserie chicken. Add chicken, beans & corn to the crock pot and cook for an additional 1/2 hr.

Serve with your choice of garnish.Chichen Enchalada soupAnd watch your kids gobble it up!! (I think the tongue sticking out say it all!)

Chichen Enchalada soup

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chicken Enchalada Soup

  1. Rebekah says:

    Does this really have 1/2 cup of taco seasoning? That seems excessive!

    • 1/2 c is what we add. Which is two packets if you buy it that way. We buy in bulk. Basically if we make taco meat out of a rotisserie chicken I use two packs.

      However, if that seems like to much I am sure 1/4 c would work just fine.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

