This Apron is Just Ducky!!!

63_days til Christmas
I really love to cook and now both kids love to help. So I thought it would be fun for the kids to have their own apron to wear when they help me in the kitchen. I also thought it MIGHT help save some of the clothes.

I finally finished M’s apron. It wasn’t hard to make at all, its just that things kept interfering with my crafting time.

The pattern came from ikat bag. I really love her site. She has TONS of great ideas and tutorials. And what she can do with cardboard is nothing short of amazing.

I did make some modifications to her pattern:

  • I used duck material – appropriate for a Ducky apron don’t you think?
  • I did not include a pocket, but did an applique duck instead.
  • You can’t see in the picture, but I used 3/8″ double fold bias tape around all the outside edges. I don’t have a serger and didn’t want to double fold the duck to make a clean edge. So I thought the bias tape would be a better solution for me.
  • Instead of trying to sew the elastic into the bias tape after it was sewed on to the apron, I sewed ONLY the section with the elastic. Once the elastic was sewed in I sewed it to the apron. That was much less frustrating for me.

Kid's Duck ApronI am very happy with how it turned out. This was my 1st time working with duck and still have to get past the learning curve on working with it.

The the other first with this project was how I cut out the duck for applique. I used my CRICUT!!!! I was so excited! I followed the instructions that I found on Everyday Celebrations. She has a great tutorial there. There were a few lessons I learned the hard way that I thought I’d share with you:

  • Before you put your fabric on the Cricut mat take the paper backing off from the fusible. If you don’t the fabric will come off and get all tangled and make a big mess.
  • Make sure the fabric is cut at least 3/8″ bigger on each side than you will need. If the blade gets to close to the edge of the fabric it will pull up and not cut.
  • I used Heat n Bond lite. She recommends Heat n Bond Ultra, but you can’t sew that. And I don’t trust unsewn applique in the wash. Since this was intended for a toddler’s apron, it WAS going to be in the wash A LOT! I had no problem with the Heat n Bond lite at all.
  • She says to use and I can attest to how important that is!!!!

I do have a few more aprons planned. I want to make one for N, but that will have to wait until this weekend.

Inspiration & tutorial:

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

