Quilt Blocks with a Magnetic Personality

64 days 'til Christmas

Both kiddos are always very curious about quilting and want to help me when I am sewing. So I though it would be great to make something that they could use to make their own quilt.

When I saw the quilt magnets on Chalk in my Pocket I knew I had to make them. Here was how I made mine.

Materials you’ll need:

  • Sheet magnets – I used these vent covers you can get at the local box home improvement store. They are 8″ x 15″ and when I got them they were $5 for 3. Which was a lot cheaper than anything I could find in the craft store or in the office supply store.
  • 3 scrap pieces of fabrics that are 9″ x16″
  • Matte finish Modge Podge
  • Foam brush
  • Rotary cutter
  • Quilting ruler
  • Iron

1) Select your fabric. I had some extra magnets from a different project so I picked 4 colors for N and 4 colors for M.
Quilt magnets - Fabric selectionQuilt magnets - Fabric selection

2) IRON YOUR FABRIC! Make sure you fabric is ironed completely wrinkle free or you will have problems with your fabric sticking to the magnet.

3) Paint a thin coat of Modge Podge onto the magnet. When working with Modge Podge thin is the key. You want to build up the Modge Podge layer by layer. Don’t try using thick coats. Thick coats will lead to wrinkles and bubbles.

4) Place one of the pieces of fabric centered on the magnet. You only get one shot at this. Don’t try pulling the fabric off the magnet. The 2 that I tried to reposition I had problems with the fabric stretching and then not sticking to the magnet.

5) Use the palm of your hand to smooth the fabric onto the magnet. This will push out any small air bubbles and it will help adhere the fabric to the magnet.

6) Add a thin coat of Modge Podge to the fabric.

7) Let dry for 4 hours. Yep I said 4 hours. Hey I didn’t say it was going to be a fast project. I actually did my 1st layer at bed time. And let it sit over night. I did the next layer in the morning while the kids were still asleep.  Its a good idea to let them dry on a metal surface. That way the magnets will stay FLAT and not warp as the Modge Podge dries. I set mine out on the top of the chest freezer.

Quilt magnets

8) Add a 2nd thin layer of Modge Podge. Again, let it dry for 4 hrs. I let mine dry until nap time.

9) Once the 2nd layer has dried it’s time to start cutting. Turn magnet side up and trim off the excess fabric. I have a rotary cutter that is dedicated for cutting paper (see the P on the rotary?). That is the one I decided to use, because I didn’t know if the Modge Podge would dull my fabric blade and wasn’t willing to risk it.

 Quilt Magnets - Trim excess fabric10 ) Cut a 4″ strip from the length of the magnet

Quilt magnets11) The magnets are actually a wee bit bigger than 8″. So trim the 2nd strip to 4″. You can skip this, but just like with real quilting accurate cutting leads to crisper blocks. (see the wee little bit that got trimmed off?)

Quilt magnets12) Cut three 4″ squares and one 2″ x 4″ rectangle from each strip. You will have a 1″ x 4″ rectangle left over on each strip. You can leave this in your quilter, but I am keeping that strip for myself. You will have six 4″ squares, two 2″ x 4″ rectangle, and two 1″ x 4″ rectangles from each magnet.

Quilt magnets13) You can leave your quilt block pieces like this and be done. But I LOVE star blocks and you can’t build a star block without triangles. So I took 2 of the 4″ squares and cut them on the diagonal to make Half Square Triangles (HSTs).

Quilt Magnets

14) I also like Quarter Square triangles and Square in a Square blocks. So I took one 4″ square and cut it on the diagonal. But then I took those triangles an lined them up on the 45 deg mark on the ruler. And cut again.

Quilt Magnets15)Finally I took one 4″ square and cut it in half so I had two 2″ x 4″ rectangles.

16) This left me with two 4″ squares, four half triangles, four quarter triangles, four 2″ x 4″ rectangles, and two 1″ x 4″ rectangles from each magnet.

Quilt Magnets

17) Two of the fabrics started peeling away on the edges. No problem. Apply a thin coat of Modge Podge on the outside edge of the magnet and over the edge of the magnet and let dry for 4 hours. I had 2 magnets that did this. They were the ones where I tried to reposition the fabric.

18) Repeat the same cuts for each magnet and let the kiddos (or adults) have fun making their own quilt block.

Quilt MagnetsQuilt Magnets

 

 

The kids are sure to have lots of fun making and re-making different quilt blocks with these. Heck I made several while taking pictures.

If you make a set please let me know I’d love to see them.

Inspiration:
Chalk in my Pocket

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Quintisential Quilting, Terrific Tutorials and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

