The Perfect Toddler Gift – Elmo Backpack

65 days 'til ChristmasThis one was not my idea. If you remember my Never Say Never – Bags post, then you know that bags aren’t exactly my thing.

It started at N’s birthday.  (insert flashback music here)….

N got a Batman back pack for his birthday. And he was beside himself proud of that bag. Nope I didn’t make it. It came from the store no assembly required.

After all the hullabaloo of the party was over, M picked up the back pack, turned to me with a wistful look on her face and stated “I NEED Elmo back pack.”

Well what’s a poor mom to do when confronted with THAT?

Figure out how to make a back pack. That’s what!

I wanted something simple. I didn’t have a ton of time to make a super complicated back pack.

I wanted something smallish. She has a tendency to fill bags to capacity and then try carrying it.

I wanted something that SCREAMED Elmo. Duh.

When I found the Dora Backpack at At Second Street I knew I had a winner!!! I changed up the color to red and swapped out “Backpack’s” eyes and mouth for Elmo’s eyes, nose and mouth.

Elmo Back Pack

I can’t wait until she sees it. She’s going to go NUTS!

Two down and bunches to go!!!!

Inspiration:
At Second Street

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Stupendous Sewing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

