Recycle your Party

recycle your partyIf you can’t tell by now, I really like to host parties. I like the whole process. Planning, prepping, hosting. Ok, so I really don’t like clean up. But, Mr. Steam is a pretty good sport about doing the clean up.

Besides clean up, the one thing that bothers me is throwing away the party decorations.

After all, I spent a lot of time putting together the decorations. And even though the party is over, the decorations are still cute. There must be something that I can do with them! I hate to see all that go into the waste stream.

So I continually challenge myself to figure out what I can do with the party decorations.

For previous parties here are some things that I have done with my decorations:

  • Let the kids use for crafting: I often save the paper decorations and let the kids color or cut them up or glue on “accessories”
  • Decorate the house: We have not yet finished the basement but it is set up as my craft space and the kids yucky weather play space. It just has cinder block walls and it’s so boring looking. I have the train decorations hung on the wall and they are still up over 1 year later.
  • Use for scrap-booking: Of course you can take some of those smaller decorations and keep them for you keepsake or scrapbook.

I am the most excited about what I am doing with the decorations from the Superhero party.

I am donating the decorations to my son’s school!

Yep. The teachers had mentioned to me that they wanted to have a theme week for superheros. I asked if they could hold off that theme until after N’s party, because then I would give them all my decorations. They. Were. Thrilled!

So now, instead of just the few kids we had over to the house being able to enjoy pretending to be a superhero a WHOLE classroom full of kids will be able to do so.

I can’t wait to see how the school is going to use the materials. I can’t wait to see the pictures of the kids faces playing in the phone booth and wearing the superhero capes.

So I challenge you. Don’t throw those decorations away. See how they can be reused. Can they be re-purposed? Would someone else enjoy these?

If your child isn’t in a day care, contact your local Boys & Girls club, or Boy / Girl Scout troop, or 4H club, or library.

If you have an idea of how to re-use or re-purpose your party decorations I’d love to hear it.

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Precious Parties and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

