Can’t have a Superhero Training Camp without FOOD!

My opinion is it’s not a party unless there’s FOOD!!!! And did we ever have fun with the food for this party.

I love using quilting fabric for table cloths. That way I can get fabric that totally matches the theme of the party, AND I get more quilting fabric. BONUS!

When I am putting a menu together for a party I try to find food that I can make ahead of time. I want to make sure that I have time to enjoy the party and not spend that whole time in the kitchen.  This menu was awesome for that. There was very little that had to be the day of and even less during the party.

Superhero Training Camp FoodSuperhero Training Camp Food

Superhero Training Camp Food

Appetizers –

  • Bat melons – Cut a disk out of your watermelon about 3/4″ thick and us a cookie cutter to cut the Bat Man shape. These I cut out the day before and stored in containers in the fridge. Don’t store them on your serving dish because they will shed a lot of liquid.
  • Jalopeno POPper dip – I made the dip the day before except the topping, that I put on right before putting in the oven.
  • POP corn – I cheated here and bought some from the store, but you could certainty make your own.
  • Cat woman claws (bugles) – It was soooooo hard to pour these into the serving bowl.
  • Spider Man dip (7 layer taco dip) – I made the dip ahead of time, but didn’t put the salsa and sour cream on until the last minute. I put the sour cream in a zip top bag and cut out a small part of a corner to pipe on the web.

Superhero Training Camp Food

Dinner –

  • Batman Signal burgers – I used the Bat Man cookie cutter to cut out the Bat Man logo from the cheese. Cutting the cheese, slicing the tomatoes, and washing the lettuce was about the only thing that had to be done during the party.
  • Underdogs (hot dogs) – The only prep this needed was to set out the label.
  • Calico Cat Woman beans – This is an old family recipe. This got thrown together the morning of the party.
  • Penguin Potato salad – I cheated here and got store bought potato salad. But you could totally make the potato salad the day before.
  • Mr Freeze frozen veggies – this was the one thing that N asked for as far as food goes. He likes to eat frozen veggies still frozen. So I put about 1-2 cups of ice in a large bowl. Then I set a medium bowl on top of the ice and filled it with the frozen veggies. I was impressed that for the most part they stayed pretty frozen. I was also surprised that N wasn’t the only kid who at them.
  • Corny Pun Casserole – I figured since quite a bit of the food was PUNny. That this was a good name.  I assembled the casserole in the morning and just put it in the oven 1/2 before we were going to eat.

Inspirations:

Super Hero Training Camp Posts:

 

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Precious Parties and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Can’t have a Superhero Training Camp without FOOD!

  1. Love it! You did a great job on the party and the dip! Will share soon~

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

