Calico Beans – The perfect potluck dish

calico-beansCalico beans are VERY popular in our family. They are requested for every potluck. And it’s not surprising as they are very yummy. It kinda makes me sad because I really do enjoy trying new recipes. But I sure don’t complain to loud because they are easy peasy to make!

  • 2 large cans of baked beans (I prefer Bush’s original, but feel free to use your fav)
  • 2 cans dark red kidney beans – drained and rinsed
  • 2 cans butter beans – drained and rinsed. If you can find seasoned or baked butter beans use those but don’t drain and rinse.
  • 1 cup katchup
  • 1/2 cup white sugar
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 c dried minced onions
  • 2 t mustard powder
  • 1 T apple cider vinegar (any kind is really fine)

Put all ingredients in a large crock pot, stir to combine and cook on low for 4 hrs. See I told you it was easy!!! And I usually just serve it right out of the crock pot.

By the way, this is a double batch, which is what I make if the crowd is 15 or more. If you have a smaller crowd just cut it in 1/2.

A lot of recipes call for bacon and or ground beef. This is almost sacrilege for me, but I find I like them without the meat. I know, crazy, right?! Plus cutting out the meat makes this totally a dump recipe and it make for a good go to recipe when some of my vegetarian friends come over (if you truly want this vegetarian be sure your baked beans aren’t made with bacon).

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

