Steam family approved Broccoli and Cheese Soup

Mr. Steam is a huge fan of soup, me not so much. But the kids seem to have gotten Mr. Steam’s soup gene. So every now and then I try to appease them with some soup.

When I was a kid we at at Poppin’ Fresh Pies (now Baker’s Square) not infrequently. And I LOVED their Broccoli and Cheese soup.

My previous attempts at this favorite from my childhood have ended up in disaster. The soup always ended up gritty and greasy. Not a pleasing texture at all!

But, hey I have been cooking for a lot longer now and have learned a thing or two from my past failures and my addiction to Food TV and PBS cooking shows. So I braved it again.

Broccoli and cheese soup

Ingredients:

  • 6 T butter
  • 1 lg onion diced
  • 2 carrots grated
  • 3 cloves of garlic minced or thru a garlic press
  • 6 T flour
  • 6 c chicken stock
  • 4 c broccoli florets (1 bag frozen)
  • 2 c half and half
  • 2 dashes Worcestershire sauce
  • 8 oz grated pepper jack cheese (I used chipotle because it looked interesting) + some for garnish
  • 1/2 ham steak diced (optional)
  • Hot sauce to taste (optional)
  • 12 oz grated medium cheddar cheese
  • S & P

In a large stock pot or dutch oven melt the butter over medium high heat. Add the onions & carrots, about 1/4 t salt & 1/4 t pepper. Saute the veggies until tender. About 5 min. You want the onions translucent, but not browned.  Add the minced garlic and saute 1 minute more.

Add the flour and stir continuously for 2 -3 minutes. You want to cook out all the raw flour taste. Pour in the chicken stock slowly, stirring as you pour. If you don’t stir or pour it all in your soup may be lumpy.  Add the Worcestershire sauce. Bring the mixture to a boil.

Add the broccoli (it can still be frozen). Let simmer for about 10 minutes.

Now you have a choice to make. How chunky do you want your soup? I wanted mine mostly small pieces with a few chunks. If you want big whoppin’ pieces of broccoli in our soup skip to the next step, otherwise either use an immersion blender and blend the soup to the desired texture or transfer it to batches in your blender. *** Please be careful if you use your blender, hot liquids in blenders WILL explode. Only fill the blender 1/3 full, take the center clear part of your blender cover off and cover with a folded up clean dish towel.

If you are adding the ham & hot sauce, now would be the time. I chose to add both of mine at the table, as I don’t like ham, and Mr. Steam doesn’t like hot sauce.

TAKE THE SOUP OFF THE HEAT!!! (not doing this will cause it to break. i.e. get all gritty and greasy) Add the cream. Then add the grated cheese 2 handfuls at a time. Stir and make sure it’s melted before adding the next handful.

Serve with a your preferred garnishes. Me, I like a few dashes of hot sauce (Tabasco if you please). Mr. Steam like extra cheese and ham. Crusty bread or croutons are always a welcome.

I have to say this was delish. It wasn’t soup-er cheesy (sorry couldn’t help myself) but it did REALLY taste of broccoli. And it had good flavor.  Both Mr. Steam and the lil’ Steams ate it up.

I am not sure how well it will re-heat. I am thinking that it probably would be best to reheat slowly over low heat on the stove.

Broccoli and Cheese soup

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Steam family approved Broccoli and Cheese Soup

  1. dawnchrist says:

    Ah, Baker’s Square soups were always a fav! I will have to try making this some time soon for my husband – thanks for sharing the recipe.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

