No more Suffering Succotash!

I love going to the farmers market and getting loads of fresh veggies. And I am always looking for new things to do with them. And today I tried a new one, and let me tell ya, it’s a WINNER!!!

Ok, so technically it’s not a succotash, because there’s no lima beans. But Mr. Steam will NOT eat lima beans. He loves Lima Steam engines (surprised?) but not so much the bean.

Kickin’ Succotash!

Ingredients:

  • 2 zuccini
  • 3 ears of corn
  • 1 red bell pepper
  • 1 med yellow onion
  • 1 can of green chilies or a fresh jalapeno (I did both!!!)
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced or run thru a garlic press
  • 1 c heavy cream
  • S&P
  • Olive oil

Leave the husks on the corn but cut off any dangling parts. Soak the corn in water for about 10-15 min. Meanwhile, back at the ranch, er, I mean prep the rest of the veggies. Cut the zucchini’s in half lengthwise. Slice the onion in about 1/4″ disks. Cut the pepper in 1/2. Drizzle all the veg in olive oil and sprinkle with salt and pepper.

Fire up that grill baby. What? I didn’t tell you this was grilled. Oh yeah. Totally adds great flavor. Grill all the veg to get good char marks and partially cook thru. You don’t want to cook them all the way thru because they are going to cook more with the sauce.

Dice up the cooked veg and cut the corn off the cob. Mince the green chili or hot pepper.

Heat up a saute pan with about 1 T olive oil. You can do this on the grill if you want to avoid heating up the house. Add the minced garlic and cook for 30 seconds. Watch over that stuff, believe me you don’t want it to get burnt. Add all the rest of the cut up veg and the cream. Bring to a simmer and let cook for another 5ish minutes or until the sauce gets to the thickness you like.

This stuff is AMAZING! I served it with some left over brats and it was a perfect meal. I just wish I would have had some crusty bread to sop up the sauce!!!

Kickin Succotash

Edit: I can’t stand sauteed zucchini on day 2. I had this for a repeat dinner tonight. And I still loved it!

About NotYourNormalSteam

I love to make things, food, paper, fabric, the medium doesn’t really matter. I am also an obsessive planner. The day after Christmas I am already working out plans for the next year.
This entry was posted in Fantabulous Food, Rewarding Recipies and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear from you! Please leave a comment.

